You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Artists are failing to affect the power elites"

in #art8 years ago

I had a big exhibition in 2008 right after the crash too. What a change it was. Up till then it had been euphoric. The beer companies struggled to get to sponsor each and every event, people that had never before looked at a painting bought i dozens, we discussed with the gallery owner if we wanted the beautiful Iranian champagne-girls or just the more mundane blond ones (he got stingy and we had to do with the much cheaper blonds), all artists in Copenhagen had unlimited credit in the bars.

Now they are all postmen, handicap helpers and caretakers.

Sort:  

Exactly. Art was booming in those days before the crash. There was just so much money around it as like one big endless party and no one thought it was ever going to end. I teach part time and I have one or two private buyers but what really saved me was that I bought a small restaurant with my savings and it had boomed. Instead of art people are comforting themselves with good food . As for Art it+s heart has died somewhat and whether it will ever return I have my doubts. Thanks for responding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39