"Artists are failing to affect the power elites"

in #art8 years ago (edited)

                                     

Once again Adam Curtis blesses us with his genius and wisdom as well as at the same time smack us in the face with a the glove of truth. As an artist it was painful reading for I recognized and agreed with much of what he was saying about the failure of artists to sufficiently fight or highlight the hidden world of power. I can´t speak for other artists, for but as for myself I can at least say that I tried my best to fight the good fight. I admit, as Curtis stated about artists, I too retreated into myself after failing. In my own case what I did to "retreat"  was to emigrate to Norway for a quieter life. However, if I could get the opportunity to speak with Curtis (he is known for not often giving interviews) I would specifically ask him this: for how long should an artist or a journalist sacrifice their own lives for this fight? In the article he suggests for at least 3 years. This view was based  on the approximate time of the civil rights movement in the US during the 1960s. In my case I battled for approximately 12 years. I still failed. I often wonder,/ponder if I failed because I was not good enough as a "political" artist or was it because people were just not ready to listen? After all everyone was having such a good time with all the borrowed money that was around there appeared not to be any problem. Indeed, it took the crash of 2008, causing millions of people to lose their life savings, homes and jobs, to finally wake everyone up. But even then, again as Curtis explains, the best we could could do was to protest for one day or write a banner explaining our feelings: "I feel sad". Even the Occupy Wall St movement took its time getting going and in the end was an utter failure because no one could agree on anything other than they all felt pissed off. And then everyone went home and lied to themselves in the belief that they had done their bit against the system when in actual fact it changed fck all. I would perhaps also like to say to Adam Curtis that, as a young art student, my initial reason for going to art school was in fact to become a painter and NOT  a political artist at all. My heros were Caravaggio, Raphael and Van Gogh, not Ghandi, Che Gueva or Martin Luther King.  Yet as it is often the nature of artists to notice things I noticed signs that perhaps we were all heading for the abyss. And I noticed these signs long before the abyss was even in sight, but I felt these signs were so strong that I felt compelled to try and tell people about them. And so I began making art with political content. My main message was anti-consumerism, marketing being used as propaganda and apathy. Unfortunately no one seemed to want to see or hear what I was showing and saying. Thus after 12 years, I gave up. I began to wonder if I was wrong. Perhaps I was just pessimistic and my vision of an impending disaster was never going to come. I began to think that all I was doing was being like those vagrants holding a sign saying "the end is nigh"  and making a fool of myself. After all, I am only human. And so, like I say, after 12 years I gave up, I stopped protesting. And so what was next for me? The only way forward was return to my original dream of wanting to be a painter and thus I searched for a quiet corner of the world in which I could do just that. Beautiful western Norway was where I ended up and I don´ t regret it in the least. 

Things went well in the beginning and after a year or so I honestly felt I was producing the best work of my life. I began to believe that things were going to be just fine and so it was OK to plan for a future. And so I began to work towards having my first real exhibition but to do that one must first get a foot in the door of the art world. My chance came in October 2008 when I was unexpectedly offered to exhibit three of my paintings in an international gallery in Oslo. Finally now, after all this time, things began to look good for me. Finally I was at the first step of  beginning of realizing my dream. 

But we all know that life has strange way of biting you in the ass just when you think you have it all worked out. And boy did I get bit in the ass. For on the very day I was in the gallery hanging up my paintings came the dreaded news of the financial crash. A strange sense of doom came over Oslo city. It as as though everyone knew deep down knew that things were going to get really really bad. The gallery owner came to have a talk to me and told me not to expect any sales as he had already heard that people who had money, his rich art collector customers, were now running for the hills. He prediction was right, I actually did not sell a thing. In fact I was not alone because for an entire month hardly any art was sold in the city and afterwards  came the long drawn out decline in art sales which has never really recovered to this day. 

So there I was having my first big break in an international gallery, in one of the wealthiest cities in the world, and now my dream was in pieces caused by the very disaster I had feared and spent 12 years of my life warning people was going to happen. After the exhibition was over, I was told that many art collectors were "blown away" by work but had said "I am just not buying at this uncertain time"

Was I angry. Damn right I was ! 

I don´t know, you tell me, should I have carried on fighting? Perhaps! But would it have changed anything? And please remember that while I was fighting I was also struggling just to earn a living. And while I was producing political art works in protest against the "system" (as Adam Curtis calls it), all my friends were going on holidays and buying cars. So Mr Curtis, I agree with your hypothesis  but I don´t think you can accuse me of not trying don´t throw me into the same basket as artists to played the game and pandered to the pockets of the rich. If  you want to something or someone to blame it is the game itself and this game is called greed.

And now here I am, and here we all are together, 30 years later . I am still struggling to make it as an artist and the art world is in an more of a mess than ever but for different reasons. However, as I said. such is the nature of the artist to notice things, and once again I begin to notice things, signs here and there. And these signs are telling me that things are changing. Not necessarily meaning for the better but at least change is coming and without change time and life become stagnant. If life is a voyage on ship, then we have all been drifting for a long time going nowhere. Whether we are heading for another abyss I do not know, but I will say this, just lately, I have glimpsed hope on the horizon because for the first time in long time I can at least see a direction. And that direction is suggests reality instead of a game. Considering my unwanted reputation for predicting things, (I also predicted Trump would win right at the very beginning). I  predict we are heading for a period were people will want honesty and integrity back as part of the daily existence, a more truthful life, for the game is about to end and reality is about ti begin. May be not today, may be not tomorrow, but soon and when it comes....well, one must prepare for it. 

Oslo, October 2008 (my first exhibition) on the very day of the financial crash

Sort:  

I love your idea of expressing political truths through art. I hadn't thought of it before and it seems silly to me now that I didn't. I'm relatively new to the reality of "the game"... that age-old game of greed being played out covertly in an overt sort of way. I'm not entirely sure "things are changing" more now than before I came to this knowledge, but it feels like it. I do have hope. I do see change happening. It's revealing the covert and that has to be the beginning of the end of those games. Perhaps you were ahead of your time before. Perhaps now is the time.

Hi thanks for the comment. Yeah Picasso once said: "Artists are either always ahead of their time or behind it". I have found this to be quite true. For example it took me ten years after the the band "The Smiths" spit up before I discovered what all the fuss was about. But with regards to creating art that expressed political truths I now know that I was for sure ahead of my time. However I would not say it was not intentionally. I was merely that I "notice" things and I have always had some "ability" to see possible consequences to; world events, changing social paradigms as well as arising technologies. And as such at the time I could only see we were all heading for a disaster and as member of the human race I felt I had a duty to at least try and warn people and as an artist it was I suppose natural to use art as the medium in which to try and get that message across. For example, one day in 1985 I phoned my bank and asked to speak with the bank manager. The woman, on the other end of the phone line asked for my bank number. Now the number she was referring to was obviously my bank account number but at the time I was horrified and reacted angrily. "Don´t you mean my name" I said. At that very moment it hit me that society was heading for a future where everyone will be ranked and judged by numbers. This would have dire consequences on many levels for in a world governed my numbers there are only two numbers that have any power. The first being "Number one". This prediction came true for gradually came the obsession with society became based on who is the number 1football player, who is the number 1 racing driver etc. And then we have the A b c and even d lists for actors and celebrities..this is just another form of being Number one. This idea of being number 1 also creates tremendous pressure to actually cheat in any given area of competition because being Number 2 is now meaningless thus you will do anything, in sport you might use drugs, in finance you might steal, swindle, blackmail. IN a world that only places a value on being Number 1 then it can almost force a decent person to do literally anything to be Number 1. The end justifies the means. The idea of having honor in playing fair is thus seen as being naive and thus all our moral base for society is sacrificed of the sake of this Number 1 concept. The second number that is important in a numbers based society is simply the biggest number you can think of that is written on your bank account. In other words having a shot load of money. All this future came to me in a flash at that very moment. 2 years later in 1987 I went to the cinema with my brother and watched "Wall St" and when I heard the now famous "Greed is good" speech by the character Gordon Gekko I saw this as a sign my prediction was coming true for in a numbers based society we will try to moralize the very concept. Today I can clearly see just how far this numbers based society has come. It horrifies me to see how people rank and rate themselves b y many FB friends they have or how many followers they have on twitter or how many "likes" they get on a FB post and so on. And look just how much algorithms rule our lives. And all this, and I mean all of it, began because of one invention. The computer. When banks began changing over from people doing the accounting to computers doing it, then it was the beginning of the end. We have all forgotten that we are human beings, we are far more than the sum of our genes and experiences. We are far more than a mere number but being a number is exactly what Government and corporations want us to be because when can they count us it is easier to control us. And one more thing, in a world governed by numbers it creates the perfect system for elitism. For if your bank account number is big enough or you are number 1 at something, then you can make yourself unaccountable to the law. And so this became my first political art work protesting against the banks and the idea of society being based on numbers. Looking at the world today my message and warning I failed miserably but my prediction was successful.

I had a big exhibition in 2008 right after the crash too. What a change it was. Up till then it had been euphoric. The beer companies struggled to get to sponsor each and every event, people that had never before looked at a painting bought i dozens, we discussed with the gallery owner if we wanted the beautiful Iranian champagne-girls or just the more mundane blond ones (he got stingy and we had to do with the much cheaper blonds), all artists in Copenhagen had unlimited credit in the bars.

Now they are all postmen, handicap helpers and caretakers.

Exactly. Art was booming in those days before the crash. There was just so much money around it as like one big endless party and no one thought it was ever going to end. I teach part time and I have one or two private buyers but what really saved me was that I bought a small restaurant with my savings and it had boomed. Instead of art people are comforting themselves with good food . As for Art it+s heart has died somewhat and whether it will ever return I have my doubts. Thanks for responding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05