Kalevala Rune IXsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Quite a while ago I made a sketch that was to illustrate a sequence from the Finnish epic poem Kalevala. I made a post here on Steemit explaining the exact reference, the birth of the Iron. Later @celestal made a lot of posts introducing the whole poem and he used my drawing as an illustration when he got to chapter 9.

I wasn't really satisfied with the drawing and didn't continue the work. But as I yesterday posted about Sibelius, because of Finland's 100 year anniversary, I also found the links to my old posts about Finland - and the drawing resurfaced.

And it wasn't really that bad, just something else than I had envisioned. So I have finished it colouring it in the French style that it was made in - My idea was to add it to the anniversary post by @celestal for Finland Nordic brother nation of us Danes, but also to celebrate Celestal's fine work with the Kalevala on Steemit.

Here it is:


Kalevala Rune IX

I think i will go it over one more time and then publish it in high resolution as creative commons. That means that you can download it for free and print it if you like.

Sort:  

I am not sure is this a hand made drawing but it is looking very clear to me

It is made digitally on a wacom cintiq which often gives a more smooth expression, but I guess that it could be done on analogue media too.

Ya thats what i was wondring that its really amazing

sad world when cartoons have to be nsfw.
if you're at work and your job isnt steemit then get the fuck off steemit and get to work damnit!
xD

I agree that it is ridiculous to tag things like this nsfw - but it seems to be a universal law on the puritanical internet. Steemit is an income source among others for my comic and art work so I stick around.

i get it, i had my account killed for posting a gay cartoon circlejerk with the words "great post, quality content above it".
not something im trying to do again.
lol
Awesome art, kinda make my brain race a little.

Steem on.
:D

The eternal fate of the satirist... and thanks

That picture has so many meanings. I am amazed at the detail that went into it. It tells a story to the eyes.

If you are interested in the mythology behind the scene @celestal's post that are linked in the posts is a good introduction.

Beautiful. Giving life to earth :)

Thanks... Giving iron to the earth actually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29