Japanese brushes doodlesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

I am alone! The family is travelling and sleeping over at friends. So I am trying to make a post about how to choose a Chinese or Japanese name for a traditional eastern stamp - a very complicated topic.

But looking through my images I found this brush test/doodle. It's about a year old, and apart from my pathetic attempts to write Chinese characters, it is a very pretty photo I think.

If you like beautiful brushes, you should also take a look at @neopatriarch s new brush - the finest of the European water colour brushes, and also this fine entry:

Mikko killing a brush due to his dramatic, hypersensitive Finnish temperament. Many, many fine things on his page - go look immediately at @mikkolyytinen. (A longhaired Chinese brush would have been better for this I think. I will bring some if I am going to Finland).

Cheers!
Sort:  

I love japanese style! Black ink...

Me too. When I have the time I have to buy myself 100 sheets of quality paper and get going.

Looking awesome man, and the photo is great indeed with the colors and shadows. Thank you for the feature, that is a series 7 brush taking the abuse in the beginning by the way :D How about doing a demonstration of the chinese brushes? I should definitely acquire some.

When the muse is beside you and your spirit is high, even a W&N series 7 will be secondary. I am almost dead from writing about the far east, so a brush demonstration must wait a bit. But the longer hair gives some more room for making the squash-thing you do. If it is kolinsky sable the hair will straighten (if they are not broken), but you can also buy cheep white haired goat-brushes (also somewhere in Finland i'm sure) and they kind of lay down when wet... Ok it would be easier with a demonstration :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65