You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Original Paintings By Michael Stobierski

in #art7 years ago

They are brilliant. Totally understandable why you are keeping them. As I told you a while back, I keep all of mine.
I pour my heart and soul into them, and all have meaning. 😊

Sort:  

They really do. It's probably why most artists die poor. In a perfect world, a museum would buy them all. Then I could visit them! I hope your day is filled with sunshine and all things that are good!

This world is not for artists like you or me. Most of artists are really poor, because cannot sell their artworks. I have the same problem. Sometimes I think I burn my paintings and my fairy talismans at the public, on the main square of the city, but it would be a scandal and I would be happy if I only got a fine. I bought paints and other materials for thousands of dollars a year and it does not even come back on material costs.

I understand the wish to keep your work ~ But somehow I've never had that problem. Over the years I've given away so many of my drawings and paintings. This has been both 'good' and bad.'

Starting with the 'bad' first. I once gave away a drawing to someone I was infatuated with at the time. A few days later, I saw it on the floor of his room, with an actual foot print over it. It gave me quite a shock, but it made me realize that people generally place more value on something when they have paid for it, in some way.

The 'good' is when I walk into a friend's room and see my work, well framed and hanging on a wall and I can feel that it has been loved. Sometimes when I've forgotten where a drawing or painting has gone and I see it again ~ I'm given such a wonderful surprise. 🦋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48