^.^ Inexplicit Project - Part 01 ^.^

in #art6 years ago

Preview.jpg

Hello, dear ones.png

Hope you're doing well despite the whole turmoil around HF20. I'm not really aware of all the details, just so that it's really restrictive. At least I can make some posts, but don't have enough mana to comment/answer to all of my favorite artists and friends on the site. :/

In these sad times I'm reminded of another difficult and rather disappointing moment from 7 years ago. It was when my colleague/best friend Rossy and I were graduating our Bachelor degree. Our topic covered the design of out project The Inexplicit.

I've made many posts about the characters, some stories about them, but never shared detailed info about the project, how it was made and presented, why didn't we publish it back then.
And why it's still in progress...

Border.png

Back in 2011 (I was in my fourth year) my colleague Rossy and I decided to do our diploma work together. Our Bachelor's degree course ends with a project defense (not with an exam) so we wanted to present/defend our story (The Inexplicit project) made as a book.

My part was to make the entire book design, including the cover, inner sections, bookmarks, poster and a website.
I didn't have a tablet so every character was drawn with pencil or ink, then scanned and colored in Photoshop (with the mouse :D).
Tough times I can say. But also beautiful in its own way.

Some of the materials I already showed you in my previous posts many months ago, so here are the links if you're interested:

A Time of Tranquility
the post was related to a bookmark I prepared for the graduation

Creating a Book Cover
this cover version was later made as an alternative to the ones I'm going to show you in this post... or the next if this one comes too long

Artistic Poster ^.^ Hail Mallory and ME... XD
this was a form of self-portrait and a quick introduction of the main characters

Border.png

Multivariate synthesis of solutions

Starting with the book design I'm going to show you some of the pages straight from my diploma work. It's in my native language and unfortunately didn't have enough time to translate everything. But hope you'll get the general idea.
Special thanks to my colleague and friend Rossy who helped me with the translation.

We did many sketches on paper which later were used in the book. The project became quite big and so we decided to divide it into parts. The first was called Inner Horizons, because the story takes place inside the two main cities.
From the pile of works these were chosen for the first book:
Ledna.jpg
Ledna
author: Rossy

Nomid.jpg
Regalis Nomid
author: Me

Nomid_Ledna_.jpg
Nomid and Ledna
author: Me

Border.png

Later they were used in layout of chapters in the book.
01_Chapters.gif

Border.png

Others were used to indicate some of the interesting and intriguing passages from the chapters:
Pherlorya Mallory.jpg
Pherlorya Mallory_01
author: Me

Phery_02.jpg
Pherlorya Mallory_02
author: Me

Kaleya Stalk.jpg
Kaleya Stalk
author: Me

Litle_Shi.jpg
Little Shiori_01
author: Rossy

Litle_Shi_02.jpg
Little Shiori_01
author: Me

Border.png

Here you can also see the process in a quick .gif.
01_Between-Chapters.gif

Border.png

So... this is just the beginning.
In the next post I'm going to show you the cover designs and some other advertising materials we did as well as more info about the story and the two main cities.

Here's a small map of the characters for now. It shows the main characters and some secondary who don't take part in the first book, but are very important later on.
Karta na geroite.jpg

Border.png

Banner_Leaderboard_01.png

Well, I hope you like it.
Have a wonderful day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Amazing project, @katalinaooma ! All the characters are very interesting and beautiful and your sketches of them are really lovely * ___ * I look forward to seeing more of this project :)

Thank you so much, dear Spidey! <3 <3 <3
I have a lot more to share, including a small advertising video about the project. Unfortunately, despite the long and hard work, the judges didn't appreciated it and humiliated us in front of the rest of the colleagues and audience. XD

WOAH that's cruel ! Why would they do that :( even if the genre's not their thing, you can tell that there's so much effort and love that had gone into the project !!!!

What terrible judges !!!

Thank you for the appreciation and support, dear! Yeah, at first it seemed like the topic isn't to their liking. A book design itself wasn't something new, but my friend and I came up with our own project, story, characters, advertisement and business strategy, website and a video (with the special help of my brother who taught me tips and tricks in After Effects).
But all that wasn't shared with them prior to the graduation. They knew about the topic, but not the details. Although the whole project wasn't so great, it was finished and ready to be launched if the review was positive. Unfortunately, they didn't saw any potential and that discouraged me a lot in the next few years.

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thanks, @filipino! Much appreciated! ^.^

Looks like a fair bit of thought went into this project! Though I don't like the implication that there's a sad ending D: (to the project as far as the course goes as it sounds like the project is still going and if it has a sad ending well as long as it's a good ending XD)

Thanks, Ry! It was sad that time for sure. XD But it wasn't over. I just gave myself couple of years to recover from that uncomfortable and disappointing feeling. There were people who loved the project (just not the judges), but I just wasn't the same. It took me years to except what has happened and move on. It was all a test of life and good experience (at first I thought it's a failure, but then found out it was me who had the wrong mindset). It may sound crazy, but now I'm actually glad it happened that way, because it helped me grow as a character and an artist too. ^.^
So, believe or not, it does have a happy ending or maybe a happy coming soon... XD

Whoa what an interesting project. I wish you were not discouraged creating this collaborative work because it looks to me that you have poured a lot of love and effort into it, and I feel that a project that is made from love should be finished so it can be shared with everyone ^_^.
                         
All the artworks are pretty and I also enjoy looking at the characters map. There are more women than men though in that tree... maybe you should fix that? Hahahha just kidding XD.                  

Thank you, dear Scrawly! Yeah, it took us years to prepare for the graduation. Most of the stuff (like sketches and character map) were done for fun, others were made especially for the presentation. I'm going to share that in my next posts. My friend is also helping with the translation. XD

The thing is that we expected them to appreciate our effort even tho' the topic wasn't a trend that time. They expected something different like product design, interior design, web-design, car design. etc. Book design and RP games wasn't to their liking. XD

I'm glad you noticed the inequality in the number of male/female characters. We noticed that there's be not enough strong female roles around (that time) so decided to increase their number in the story. I'm not neglecting the other party - my first and main character is an alpha male XD, but he also has an equally strong female partner. And in a man's world that is quite challenging, but also exciting. ;)
We want to show intriguing relationships, and adventures that can only be completed when working in a team. It's not only a form of sharing the ideas, but also educating. ^.^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67477.32
ETH 3474.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69