Don't let me go... WIP 01

in #art6 years ago

Preview_.png

Banner_01-02 (2).png

My PhD story is finally over, but I was caught up in more paperwork than I originally planned. I'm even a reviewer of another colleague who is graduating her Bachelor degree. Crazy, ha... XD

So with that in mind I decided to take my time and finish these tasks and leave Steemit for a while (more that 10 days to be precise). I could've showed you something just to make a presence, but that is not me. It sounds like a lousy excuse and will place quantity over quality.
At least that's my personal opinion.

Even tho' this post is related to one of my old works, it's still constructed like my usual pieces on Steemit.
I used it in my previous post but its purpose was different. So let me tell you the story behind it - hope it'll be interesting to read. ^.^

Border_01 (2).png

The Story

This was originally a kissing scene of Phery Mallory (one of my main characters in the Inexplicit story) and her husband Lain Spell (another one of the main characters but created by my friend and co-author Rossy).

The scene represents a moment of their engagement party immediately after a brief dispute between them about the future cohabitation. In my previous posts, I spoke about their complicated relationship, worsened by a curse that has been over Lain since his childhood.

All of Phery's attempts are hitting a wall (Lain does not wish to show any affection) and decides to leave in the middle of the party. Scared of losing her for real this time, Lain takes a risky move and attempts to kiss Phery in front of the shocked audience - his twin brother Vain and Hail. XD

Border_01 (2).png

The Reference

As usual, I used a reference for my work. Unfortunately, I have the image only, not a proper link to it.
The reason for that lies in the year of creation - the late 2014 and the simple conclusion - I don't really remember the site. XD
tumblr_mbwiomIbBg1r03ojvo1_500.jpg
I'll try and search a decent link one of these days.

Border_01 (2).png

Works in progress

Started with her figure first. Lain is still a silhouette here, that's why even the final version is not so final.
_Phery-Lain_01.jpg
The man's hand was too big compared to Lain's refined and slender figure so I had to make some adjustments. Nothing too radical, I usually prefer skinnier fingers. XD

Border_01 (2).png

Next was adding more details on the skin and darkening the face part.
_Phery-Lain_02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

I also was thinking of a new dress. It's an engagement party so it deserves a special outfit. Lain has this interesting ornament (it was my friend's design) which I also used in this artwork: A Time of Tranquility.
_Phery-Lain_03.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

I had this idea of a floating lace around her body for quite some time, but to be honest am not so satisfied with the result. And because this is still a WIP, I think I'll change it later.
I'm also planning to share with you some more of Phery's dresses - she deserves a fancy clothing line. XD
_Phery-Lain_04.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Adding some color to show the magical night of their kiss...
_Phery-Lain_05.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

After that I left the illustration for years before picking it up again for my recent post How I created my Menē account ^.^.
Looking at the exquisite site of Menē I remembered this old pic and decided to adjust it a little so that it fits the preview.
I just had to remove Lain and make the lace golden... oh, and resize it, of course. ^.^
Thumbnail.png

Border_01 (2).png

Well, that's it for me.
Have a great day, everyone! ^.^
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

I'm kind of inclined to say that the lace still needs a bit of work but lace is hard and annoying and hence I avoid it like the plague and probably really shouldn't XD Your end result looks like a really glamourous model shot, very elegant and soft and light and floaty :)

Thank you, Ry! ^.^
Looking at it now, I think it needs a lot more work. XD But it's still a work in progress, so I really want to change the design. Think I'm gonna keep the lace, but have to make it way better. ;)
Thank you for the great comment! ^.^

I think it will be quite difficult for you to track down the original source of the image... apparently if you look it up on Google Image Search there are way too many results and most of them are from pinterest references. Suffice to say that it seems to be one of those images that are used far too often in romance novels. Luckily you have created something better than the original image!

Thanks, @plushzilla! I faced the same problem when tried to trace back the site I downloaded it from. I think was tumblr, but not so sure. It's been used in so many sites and posts on the Internet that in the end I really don't know what's the original source.
I'll maybe leave it like that, if it's not a problem.

I think your picture is much more glamorous, and hopefully it will be seen in many places too (with the right attributions) :)

I'm so happy you think that. There are so many great artists on Steemit. It's a bit hard to be seen. But with dedication and patience everyone can grow. Now that I have more time, I can make posts alongside my projects. ^.^

I am sure that I am not the only one that thinks so. As you say, it is not easy to get your work out there, but your passion and motivation to achieve your artistic goals is the best source of fuel available, and I feel like you have plenty of it!

Don't forget about the iTalent contest if you have more time now, I think you will do great and I would love to vote for your work too (except I think I need to put in an entry to vote :p) :)

Very lovely work in progress, @katalinaooma :D I love how delicate you are making the laces to be ! The pose of the shoulder and neckline is also nicely done! Beautiful !

Thank you, dear Spidey! ^.^ I'm so glad you like it! And thank you for promoting my art, dear! <3 <3 <3

💙 @katalinaooma!!!
thanks to spidey for promoting your post at @c-squared
I hadn't seen one of your posts in a while
hugs! 👩‍🎨🎨🎉

Thank you, @melooo182! Yeah, I've been a bit busy these days. Will post more stuff in the future. ^.^
Hope you're doing good!
Hugs! <3 <3 <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank yo so much, @c-squared! Much appreciated! ^.^

Beautiful! Your art work looks much better than the photo that inspired you! Gold color is a great idea!

Thank you so much, @delishtreats! Oh, I'm so happy you like it! I use references a lot, but always try to make my versions, don't want to copy everything. XD Thank you once again!

Hello @katalinaooma, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you, @creativecrypto! It's such honor that you like my artwork. ^.^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28