My Old inspiration folder

in #art6 years ago

So it's currently 12:51 pm, I'm in desperatly need of a smoke and since it's too late for me to make noise and play guitar and the nicotine monkey makes me to shakey to draw, I have been looking at some stuff I made when I was a teen, and I kind of wanted to share it with you guys.
Between using way more time drawing and busting a couple of knuckles not gloving up before hitting the heavy bag I sadly think this is when I was at my best, the plan is however to do an effort to get back in the game, but like I said earlier, I'm trying to cut the cigarette/vaporizer, so my hands are pretty much useless the next three days, hopefully this will change soon :)
The one positive thing I brought with me from design school was the inspiration folder.
I always got the same:
''It's not realistic enough'' ''The colours are not complimenting eachother'' ''Don't use those photoshop filters'' Then again half the class was standing behind me when I was drawing.

At the same time I wish I had been less rebellious and listened, so I could've learnt more techniques related to photoshop and realistic drawing, especially now that my pinky is busted and shaky, and I can't complete a drawing without ruining it because oh shaking, but it's my intention to learn, and I will post here.

Offcourse if anyone has any good advice about technique or tools, I would be most grateful.
Though I am mediocre at best my two best and only tips when it comes to art is observation and time.

I've drawn for hours and hours on end, and slowly but surely I have improved. I had no initial talent, I was insanely jealous of one of my best friends who just had a gift.

The second like I said, the one positive thing I got from art school: INSPIRATION FOLDER.

All the sketches in this post comes from my personal inspiration folder, there are however loads more I'm not going to share.
It is a folder full of my sketches, photos and they can come from anywhere, there can be a cool pattern or a little detail i anything from a character in a comic strip, a painting or the pattern in a shirt sleeve in a gossip magazine.

I personally am most inspired my grafitti, comics and anime. Then again, I am a nerd, a rap/grafitti enthusiast, but I am able to appreciate art in all it's forms.
I also love painting, I personally have no talent for it, but I truly admire those who do.

In summation, no matter how small the detail, if you like the esthetics of something, make a small sketch or snap a pic, no matter how insignifficant it might seen at the moment.

I remember when I was a kid, and a couple of gravel pieces in the schoolyard gave me just the kick in the ass I needed to resolve my proportion problems.

But enough rambling. Like I said, I am far from the best artist, but here is some stuff I made when I was younger:

IMG_20180513_000819.jpg

IMG_20180513_000919.jpg

IMG_20180513_001016.jpg'

IMG_20180513_001102.jpg

IMG_20180513_001125.jpg

IMG_20180513_001155.jpg

IMG_20180513_001242.jpg

IMG_20180513_001257.jpg

IMG_20180513_001312.jpg

IMG_20180513_001322.jpg

IMG_20180513_001349.jpg

IMG_20180513_001358.jpg

IMG_20180513_001437.jpg

IMG_20180513_001525.jpg

IMG_20180513_001600.jpg

IMG_20180513_001629.jpg

IMG_20180513_001637.jpg

IMG_20180513_002352.jpg

So there you have it, everything i kept in my inspiration folder that I made myself from when I was a teen, there was a lot more that hit the trash bin. Like I said, I am not a talented artist, but I love drawing, and I'm a hard worker.

Hopefully these mediocre sketches gives someone more talented than me some ideas, the reason I kept them was not because I was proud of them, but because each of them had some details I liked that I wanted to use again in other work.

Hopefully someone reading this at the very least finds them entertaining.

Thank you for your time @k3nb0b

Sort:  

Great work bro and while your stoned too lol
Thanks 4 the upvote
I have followed

Congratulations @k3nb0b! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


Congratulations @k3nb0b!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @k3nb0b! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95