Mesmerizing Mandala & Mehndi Designs--Southwest Snowflake

in #art8 years ago

SF667201.jpg

The new Snowflake Mandala book I am currently working out of has some very intricate designs to choose from, many of which are so complex, I haven't even considered trying to tackle them yet, preferring to wet my feet as it were, with a few of the easier designs.

SF1432c6.jpg

I started this one, as I often do, from the center, but I didn't continue to work in my normal fashion after these initial marks on the paper.

SF23102b.jpg

As you can see I immediately jumped away from the center and began focusing on the snowflakes first.

SF34afc9.jpg

I then proceeded to fill in around the snowflakes in order to make them stand out a little more.

SF464f1b.jpg

I then went back to the center and chose a couple of different colors to work with that would compliment those already used.

SF5b700b.jpg

I continued adding contrast by tossing green in next to the orange, while trying to decide what the final two colors would be.

SF63cdef.jpg

This is the finished piece, it has a bit of a southwest flavor to it, hence the title. Although I wasn't sure how this would look once finished, I've had some very positive feedback from my personal peanut gallery...which is all that really matters...if those you surround yourself with really appreciate the things you do, there is no greater glory.

The Previous Entry

Stay tuned for more entries in this category!

Snowflake Mandalas

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem…leave us a comment!

Auto-upvote by setting up an account at steemvoter.com

SteemVoter304a7.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63862.88
ETH 2754.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64