Magnificent Mandalas & Mehndi Designs; Entry #1--The Fish

in #art8 years ago

So, the other day I decided to take up a new hobby. I am always looking for something to do with my free time. While I have many hobbies to keep me busy, adding new ideas to the mix has always appealed to me. Now, normally I am not the arts and crafts type, at least not in the conventional sense. In the past, my arts and crafts projects entailed DIY designs associated with emergency preparedness, survival, and off grid living conditions...things like building shelters, discovering new methods of making fire, and manufacturing needful things out what nature provides. My daughter has always had the art bug, she is very talented and has always wondered where it came from.

I won't lie and pretend that I can draw, I can't...not a lick...on my best day I can do stick figures dangling from the end of a Hangman's noose in the time honored tradition of playing the game of the same name. That being said, I have always dabbled with adding my own touch to things when I can, normally through nothing more than adding color, as I did here. For my new hobby I elected to go with something that would be meditating. I stumbled across adult coloring books, and after this initial attempt, I've found a new interest. The relaxation this activity provides really allows me to recuperate through a meditative state in which my only focus is on the context of color to add to the piece.

The artist and artwork for this project were found in the book Nature Mandalas

Stay tuned for more entries in this category!

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem…leave us a comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39