Magnificent Mandala & Mehndi Designs; Entry #12--The Psychedelic Snowflake

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Snowflake66fb3a.jpg

Drop Acid Not Bombs! That was a common catcall of the peace loving hippies of the sixties. I was watching a show the other night with my Mother and brother about the activists of the sixties and the nationwide psychedelic experiment many of them participated in. My mother, being a flower child of the sixties, shared stories of what life was like in our little hometown in northern Michigan during that era...which served for my inspiration on this color scheme.

Snowflake2032cf.jpg

I wanted to keep this as simple as possible, yet give it a psychedelic twist. I chose a 4 color combination that I thought flowed very well together...

Snowflake434664.jpg

This was a very cool image to finish...it was a bit more tedious and time consuming than some others due to the fine lines involved...

Snowflake585679.jpg

I suppose I could've filled in more of the white space...but I liked the way it was coming together at this point, so I decided to finish it out using the white space to my advantage...

Snowflake7c3144.jpg

Kinda looks like cotton candy and creamsicles doesn't it...makes me wonder what the hippies and flower children of the sixties would see if they viewed this through the tinted windows of a tripping soul...

Snowflake60e4a6.jpg

The Previous Entry

Stay tuned for more entries in this category!

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem…leave us a comment!

Nature Mandalas

Magnificent Mehndi Designs

Sort:  

Thank-you! If only more people thought so...

Do you promote your blogs beyond Steemit? I've found that linking them on twitter and instagram brings people over here, then they follow and upvote, and etc. I also have found that setting up an account on steemvoter.com and having an upvote list of people you like will get people to always upvote your posts. It's a way for us minnows to unite. I just added you to my list, so I hope that helps. :)

Thank-you for the information and the add...it does seem to have helped. I will look into this steemvoter.com and get involved. I'm not really on Twitter, but I do have an Instagram I should be using. Thanks for the advice! :)

Got signed up on steemvoter.com...added you to my new list...thank-you very much for the advice and direction...very much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67100.18
ETH 2610.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67