Caricature of Snoop Dogg - Step by Step..

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! Today I want to submit another caricature for your enjoyment. 

Snoop Dogg aka Snoopy Snoop Dog, Snoop and Snoop Lion (a name he took after becoming Rastafarian) is an American rap artist. His real name is  Calvin Cordozar Broadus Jr and was born in California in 1971.

His face is the type that makes caricature easy!! His long angular features make distortion simple and fun and not much risk of losing the likeness. 

Step one - Playing with shape

This face looks like it must be longer that normal to emphasize the lanky, skinny physique. I made the forehead smaller to help with this as well. I use PhotoShop and mostly use a number 24 brush.

A Wacom tablet can simulate almost anything and here, has the "feel"of a pencil. For those that have asked, I have a Wacom Cintiq 22 HD.

Step two - Refine the features

Still using the pencil settings, I try and capture the likeness. The lips are still too tight but I will try and rectify this in the "painting" stage...

Step three - Basic color

Fin a medium brown for the skin and a charcoal for the hair and place these colors in a layer behing the drawing.

Step four - blocking in the shades

Just a guideline, adding a few more subtle skin shades so that I can get a feel of the depth of the image

Step five - finishing off the caricature

Ready to submit. I could sit all day playing around with the beard and hair but I want to get it posted and see whaty you think. Please send suggestions for who else you would like caricatures done....Enjoy!!

Sort:  

Very good. You have talent

Great bro!

Thank you. Thanks for visiting. I must think of more ideas

Nicely done!

Thank you @awgbibb. Working on more music legends

WoooW....!!!!
Awesome!!!
Like your art very much!!

Thanks very much @saleg25. I will do more caricatures soon.

Great work, lots of fun! Followed, I look forward to seeing more of what you create here!

Thanks @kidsysco. I will work on more

Wow. This is really really beautiful unique. You have a very good and outstanding voice. Making an interesting blog by the day.

openmusic.gif

Awesome, as ever :)

Thank you @graviton...more to come

Wow, this looks so cool! :D

Thanks!! I will make more!

I love your sketch and drawing as much as I love the final product! You have a beautiful talent for capturing the essence of a person while still making it your own - a difficult thing to do. So impressed with your work.
I see that you're from South Africa. I had the pleasure of visiting many years ago to stay with different friends there in both the northern and southern parts of the country. I got to see so much of the beauty, diversity and texture of that country. Definitely an amazing experience.

Visit again! Don't be a stranger!! Yes I am from South Africa. All my kids and grandkids have emigrated to the States. I am doing all I can to join them.
Thank you for the encouraging comments. I really love charicature ans spend a lot of time honing my skills in this field of my work.
I am inspired, though, by your work and will learn what I can from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34