🎨 Purple portrait/watercolor work/step by step 👣

in #art7 years ago (edited)

[Tekst na srpskom]

'' If something is good, don't spoil it''
That was my moto while doing this one. Portrait is subject done for centuries, emotions written on someone face, skin tone, eyes..

Maybe that's why I love to paint them so much, like a path or stories written on someone face..
And as I done them in 2017, sure I will continue with them in this year :)
Lately I am trying to work with larger amounts of water, learning how to control it in connection with color..Watching process of drying and waiting for results.




pgl.jpg

Drawing beneath is simple, just few lines without many details. Later I am entering into them with color.


p1.jpg


First stages of process looks messy, water should be watched and controlled all the time and you can do that by using brush, taking of too much of it from paper and also with some kitchen paper towels.


p2.jpg


Between stages it's important to wait for watercolor become dry to see the results before going further. From this first messy one I usually wait over night.
This kind of brush is good because it takes lot of water and color, and its shape allows you to make different line and spot sizes.


p3.jpg


After being dried well, stepping into details


p5.jpg


And more of them, also using less water and more color


p6.jpg


Until it's finished..

p7.jpg



Hope you liked this small tutorial of mine. Also I hope someone of you who are fan of watercolor technique will try out your skills, because I believe art needs lot of practice and results don't come over night :)



steemsign.jpg

Sort:  

What an amazing watercolor!!! Very impressed!!!

anonther great work ! :)

This watercolor is a masterpiece. Well done!

Thank you @mitchhunter, it's still long way to masterpiece :) Hope you enjoyed it :)

Yes, I enjoyed it a lot! Upvoted

Great work , I invite you to see my sketches and illustrations.

I am impressed. Skillfully executed

this is great - watercolor is a very hard - and often underrated - medium! The balance between the free flow and control is excellent!
Oil or acrylic, you can make and fix mistakes. Not so with watercolor. Bravo!

@thermoplastic, thank you so much, people usually don't know hardness of making good watercolor work. And such comment from artist great as you are means a lot to me :)

Beautiful colours, you really have a special eye for colour. To me, it says a lot about how you must see the world to be able to see the unity & balance in colours like this. It's great you are able to express it in your work and we are able to be inspired by it. Lovely!

Thank you @groundcontrol, must say this is my palette, blue, purple ...Warm colors, well I get bit lost in them, sometimes I joke,that I am thinking in blue tones :)

You have both technical skills and your own style. Love your work!

Thank you @milenamilak, same here comes for your work!

wow this is really amazing... i really admire your control of the medium and corral it into the shapes and saturation that you want... and i love that its not normal portrait colors :)

@gotmeens, I am still playing and trying to learn how to control this huge amount of water I am dealing with, thank you :)

Wonderful work. I have never really worked with aquarell colours. Thanks for showing the steps, maybe I'll try out one day soon :)

@yogaanarchista, try it, don't be afraid, just let your self go. You have some more small tutorials on my page, maybe you will find some of them also useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62