🎨💤 Lazy Sunday/Geisha Ink drawing

in #art7 years ago

It's been pretty lazy Sunday yesterday for me..With no plans for a day that was gray.. I had my morning coffee thinking what should I paint..Wasn't in the mood for watercolors and I remembered to have several photos of geisha on my drive. Lately I started reading a book about them, their history, tradition and habits. Possibly my subconscious gave me kick to start this drawing of the day.



And also I was in the mood for another ink and pen drawing, not like this one

https://steemit.com/art/@jungwatercolor/morning-ink-drawing

but one that will take more time and work.


crop.jpg



And here is the process..
Photos were taken during different time of the day so the shade of the paper vary.
Paper is Canson paper Mix media Imagine A4


No previous pencil sketch, why to make it easy from early morning :)


1k.jpg


Got myself into hair instantly, so tempting detail


2k.jpg


Going with more datails


3k.jpg


On larger black parts decided to take thin brush to apply ink.


4k.jpg


5k.jpg


Only details on belt were done with silver and white ink, probably will use more of this kind of approach in some future drawings.
And here she is, after day of easy work, between lunch, nap, watching tv shows and eating sweets :)



6k.jpg



Thank you for watching and hope you like this pretty gentle person from paper.


steemsign.jpg

Sort:  

I really admire your penmanship, i wish i had such a steady hand.
Heres a beautifully sad lullabye for a beautiful drawing:

thank you @groundcontrol, still is steady, most of the time :) Thank you for this wonderful lullaby :))

I like the eyes empty like in the second picture without color. It gives the woman extraterrestrial look , some kind of humanoid alien lady with a power of mind control through her eyes :)) After coloring the eyes she gets innocence.

thank you @ruen, interesting look but to be honest I am not into spooky things anymore :) Somehow I feel that we have enough things that scare us in real life so I tend to escape this way from it :) ''Beauty will save the world'' You can call me that person hahahaha

Divan... @jungwatercolor :) Obožavam tvoje portrete.

Hvala @ladysnowhite, lepo te je videti ovde :) Kako se boris sa bebcem, jel slusa mica mala?

Cim imam vremena da ovde kuckam, znaci da slusa :) Dobra je, voli da rucka i spava, na mamu :)

aww love the art work jungwatercolor

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

Thank you! jungwatercolor would be great to get your interpretion on my last art post called "Kurtd Cobain" your insight would help us : )

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

She is so lovely! You have such control of that pen, it's admirable. I really like the addition of the silver/white details on her sash.

Sounds like a pretty perfect Sunday to me!

@offbetabroad, yes it was perfect day and it hasn't been for a long time. Usually I put myself in some work and at the end that day becomes as other days..Sometimes is good, if we can do nothing :) Thank you for your comment :)

Beautifully drawn Dunja. The way you have drawn her emphasizes her gentle Japanese nature. Reminiscent of Japanese woodblocks. Love that you have just left the paper as the background. Resteemed. 🦋

thank you @allyinspirit for comment and resteem. Love for this kind of drawings go way back in my life, from some teenage years when my aunt brought some paintings of geisha made on silk from let say Singapore..And I was doing copies of them with ink at that time, I believe my aunt kept one of those drawings :)

Such a lovely way to be inspired. I was introduced to Japanese sumie painting in my final years at art school, when I became interested in yoga and then zen meditation. 🦋

yes @allyinspirit, those things are very connected, love yoga too, thinking of starting my practice again..And as regards meditation that is only thing I haven't tried myself jet. Somehow drawing with pen is sort of meditation for me :)

Very interesting image and very sharp executed. Love this one!

thank you @romaan-namoor, and you just keep up with great drawings !

You're very welcome and the same for you, keep up the good works!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30