🎨 Favorite one

in #art5 years ago (edited)



While you practice your art, draw, paint or sculpture, what ever creative process you are in regular, you tend to get better.
Work, work and only work make progress. Progress happens in your mind too, like crashing the walls inside, letting new ideas enter.



And than, after some time, you look back, sometimes it can be only matter off weeks, and say..My God, how bad this is..
Work you been happy with now looks completely different, you see flaws, wrong realization of some parts and now you aren't satisfied with it as you were before.

It's normal and good, it means you made progress.



But, there is always some BUT :)
There are works that after some time still you find satisfying. Even, very good.
There is something that ''stands'' on them despite your progress.

Here is one of my own that still I consider good.

Crvena obrva - 30x30.jpg



Watercolor made on thin rice paper.

Red eyebrow
30x30 cm




Do you find yourself sometimes in situation I described?

Thank you !

Sort:  

Beautiful artwork as usual! I've never painted on rice paper, but I think it's not so simple,
By the way, I totally agree with you: Work, work and only work make progress. In art field and also in every field of our life ^_^

It's not, you are right. You need to keep sort of a towel under paper to soak water, than colors look totally different while wet, so you need to wait to become dry to add more color or strokes. But result is amazing :)

Such a mysterious image Dunja. I can easily understand you coming back to it and seeing the magic that it always will have.

I totally understand the situation too. It's aways a surprise to see some of my older works that friends have kept. I don't know whether to laugh or cry. It's good to see that we make progress but also good to see elements that were alive in us at the time of painting. That spirit will live on even if technically we may not have been so adept. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Hi Dunja, just came across your post, it is nice watercolor work, I like the eyes looking like through he veil. I was wondering if you already knew about @NTopaz platform where you could post your works too. Of course it is a bit tricky but once you get used to it that is fine. You can edit your post in Steemit if you need.

Currently I am running "Watercolor Art" contest and it would be good to see nice your nice works there. I am attaching the link:

https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@stef1/visual-art-contest-watercolour-art-sponsored-by-ntopaz

I am confused by my own skills I see "yidneth" the comic I made in the nineties and it proves I had the patience to develop poses and backgrounds I lack that today, I just hurried and it feels my skills went backwards (well not quite so but sometimes it does) and it's due to lack of consistent practise and long halts. Trying to get back to my art.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

A haunting portrait, love the colours 🎨

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83