The Fog / Creative writing for Artquest 19

in #art7 years ago


The Fog

The tepid water chilled her skin having lost it's heat long ago. She stared blankly at the gritty walls and pondered thier filthiness. Everything around her was crumbling, peeling, rotting to ruin. Yet she did nothing. It felt comforting to be in a room that reflected her mood, fitting.

Her skin began to prickle with goosebumps but she wasn't bothered in the slightest. This was her nightly ritual. She would stay submerged and take all the comfort she could in the quiet sloshing of the water, gently sweeping her hands through it creating a slight rhythm. Sploosh, splosh, sploosh, splosh. She would stay until her husband came in. How sweet he was, he didn't want her to freeze. He would force her to get out, to towel off, to get in bed. Beg her to see a doctor. She would agree as usual but she knew it was pointless.

The fog had rolled in and nothing could stop it.

No doctors, hospitals or medications could fix what she had. She would have to suffer.

She heard small footsteps approaching and managed a feeble smile as the door opened. He was holding her bathrobe. The softness in his eyes made her ache. He took her hand tenderly and pulled her up and pushed her damp hair out of her eyes.

"What have you been thinking about honey? " he asked sadly.

"Nothing much".

This is an original story based on the above painting for @askinya's artchallenge: https://steemit.com/artchallenge/@artquest-trail/artquest-trail-19-artchallenge-theme-announcement-100-trail-10-sbd-prize-pool-nsfw

Sort:  

You have a way with words! I could picture the scene and feel the emotion throughout the entire short story, down to the goosebumps.

Thank you so much, I don't write often but I really enjoy it, these comments are very encouraging!

hehe, kinda creepy! lol upvoted

Thank you, the art definitely has a creepy vibe!

This is terrible and beautiful. It has applications for depression, and dementia, and mourning. You really drew out the morose emotion of the painting using words. Love it.

Thank you, I actually just visited my grandmother and she has dementia so it's been on my mind. You are too observant it's scary 😯

OMG!!! Amazing !!

Thanks I read yours too it was very nice!

Wow that is really fine writing @juliakponsford - very imaginitive !

Thank you I have been trying to write more, joined a few challenges to push myself!

Wow. I love your style. You should write a novel!

I don't think I have it in me to write a novel yet but thank you, I appreciate it!

WOW! Great!!!!!!!!!

Thank you so much!

I enjoyed this story on the radio show, @juliakponsford! Well written.

Thank you rose :)

Welcome, dear.

Welcome, dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33