Sucked In / Art for Collaborative Art Journey 30

in #art6 years ago

"ASPECTS OF EXISTENCE"
hand-01-01.jpeg

This is my submission for collaborative art journey number 30. The title of the image given by @everlove is Aspects of Existence. I've touched on similar themes many times with my art. We all have many aspects to ourselves, many facets and sides. I've noticed a trend lately in our culture with people becoming extremely hung up on one aspect of their identity, whether it be politics, age, place of birth or something else entirely. I have a gut feeling that this can impede our ability to grow as a person and become well rounded.

None of us are one thing, and we shouldn't allow ourselves to be sucked in and defined, or isolated because of it. We are all more similar than we are different but in infinitely complex and beautiful ways.

Original image from @everlove :)

Join in on the journey here: https://steemit.com/collaborativeartjourney/@everlove/invitation-collaborative-art-journey-aspects-of-existence-no-30-this-is-your-invitation-to-collaborate-whatever-your-expression

<

Sort:  

Wow, I liked that! Could you tell us a little bit about the process on how you make these? Also, where are you coming from? Is there are post, talking a little bit about your background? Great work xx

edit: Oh just saw that I have to redirect this question @everlove

The top art is mine, it is a transformation of the bottom image that was supplied by everlove, I'm not sure what it is, always a surprise. I work digitally on my tablet so I just take the original image and play around cutting and pasting and painting a bit. I normally add process but I kind of forgot to document the steps. You can learn more about the Collaborative art journey and join if you click the link at the bottom!

what an incredible art you show to my mind, sometimes I just can't believe that you have made me a portrait is something utopic as this piece from your soul.

This comment is an incredible piece of art ❤️❤️

well spoken (:

Woah! Way to transform a picture into your own. I kept scrolling back and forth between the original and your interpretation. Amazing! I wouldn't have known how it initially looked if you didn't put the original one in the post.

We all have many aspects to ourselves, many facets and sides.

So on point. Your picture shows so many different fractions of what makes a person himself. Interesting placement of the hand. Gives the feeling of a person being sucked into a vortex where the different fragments blended into one instead of being different fractions/factors. It gives off the vibe that you're focusing too much on one thing that everything else becomes part of it and you cease recognizing that there are other things in life.

Aspects of Existence

Definitely a fitting title. Fantastic piece all in all.

Quite an arresting image.

I like your comment about getting hung up on a single aspect of identity, and that we are all more similar than we are different. It's something that tends to be forgotten in the current political climate, with emotions running high and the differences so often in focus. But mostly those are small things in the scope of what makes our whole selves.

Good post!

Thanks, the political drama seems to have reached a peak this year, hopefully it's just a phase and people will simmer down soon :)

Whoa looks amazing :)

Thank you soundwave <3

It's so fun to journey with you @juliakponsford. Your art is always exciting.
This one is no exception! I particularly also like your comment

None of us are one thing, and we shouldn't allow ourselves to be sucked in and defined, or isolated because of it. We are all more similar than we are different but in infinitely complex and beautiful ways.

I couldn't agree with that more. Just one more thing we have in common. Thanks for sharing yourself. I really love your creative expression.

Thank you again for hosting everlove. Both the title and image gave me some interesting thoughts as they always do, can't wait for the next one ;)

May we be blessed to play together again @juliakponsford! <3

I love the way that you create such striking imagery. It's not necessarily right to say that it takes my breath away, but rather that it makes my breath stop. :D

I agree, it does seem like people are becoming more polarized along singular lines of identity. To me, the image you've created here communicates an idea of individuals being consumed and lost in their many facets of identity. Maybe the 'I' getting lost in the 'me'.

Thank you for sharing! :)

Haha awesome I'm so happy to hear that, art should make us think after all even though it can be mostly an aesthetic thing :)

My goodness I love your art its very unique and it says so much to me! Julia your words are beautiful and you are exactly right in what you say❤️😍

Aww thanks cecirod 😗

Wow! What a cool concept! Your result and the collaborative journey project itself (I wanna play!) I love the colors you pulled out--especially the dark pinkish and purplish tones. I appreciate the concept too. I think those hang-ups clog the mind, which I agree, gives one less ability to grow. And I think once we rid ourselves of this mindset, that it can change the way we see other people as well!

You should definitely come play, thank you for the comments :)

I love how unique your art is. It reminds me of a really good friend of mine, that studies with me and does all kinds of crazy stuff that I don't really know how she comes up with them. Thanks for sharing! :)

Thanks, you should get your friend on steemit, we need more artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94