DRAWING CHALLENGE: Blind contours (draw with your eyes open and closed by @rubenalexander)

in #art6 years ago

I was contacted by @rubenalexander and asked if I wanted to participate in a creative challenge of sorts. It was a fun way to be more creative about creativity. Well I like challenges so of course I accepted. Ruben challenged me to draw something I was familiar with with my eyes open, and then draw the same thing with my eyes closed.

Ruben's post is here.

Ruben did an eye, and since the challenge was about being blind I decided that going with an eye seemed like a good idea as well!

Here is the eye I drew then painted with my eyes open:

eye1.jpg

OK now for the challenging part, lol. I am drawing on a tablet so I made a new layer and grabbed a pencil tool and did my sketch as you can see with the black lines. The moment I made my first stroke I felt lost. I kept my finger on the screen where I started hoping this would guide me back to where I started so I could close the line and I couldn't even do that hahah! It's really hard!

I scribbled a bit more, certain that I was making a glorious mess. When I opened my eyes it was not too bad but all off kilter of course!

I decided to paint it a little, this was tricky so I covered my screen while picking colors on the sidebar, then uncovered when I had my eyes closed again, blech, I tried to lay down the basics as in the first one but again everything was off balance and shifted to the side. Here is my final BLIND masterpiece:

eye2.jpg

Like Ruben I had the same feeling of panic and stress when I had my eyes closed. As soon as I lifted my finger off the canvas and no longer had a sense of the drawing space.

I just had to let go...

I'd love to pass on this challenge and will tag a few people who I think might have fun with this: @donnadavisart, @drawingly, @crimsonclad :p, @yusaymon, you're it! If anyone else wants to participate please feel free to do so. Ruben used the tag eyescloseddrawingchallenge but Steemit won't let me use that many characters so I used eyescloseddrawing, Ruben must be a wizard :p

Sort:  

Interesting experiment - I tried it with just a pencil sketch and, yes, the elements are there, with a certain ... distacco.

Upvoted, resteemed and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

= Quality Content Creators can request to join MAP = see the Benefits = Free Membership =

The important part of this excercise is that afterwards I felt like that challenge made me more adventurous to try experiments (less risky than eyes closed!) 👀

Yeah I think most things will be easier, lol it was fun though!

I would much prefer the second one on my wall for sure! Great job Julia :)

You should try the challenge too Basil, I wanna see a video of you drawing eyes closed :p

I'll do it. But only if you watch the video with your eyes closed!

I agree with you and @rubenalexander. Good exercises to do today I decided to make and show step by step the realization of an eye made with a ballpoint pen, I invite you to see it in my gallery.

Excellent eyeball but now you need to do one with your eyes closed too 😊

If you donate 1 SBD or STEEM to @a-0-0 I will resteem your last post to over 72,500 followers on my 2 accounts @a-0-0 and @a-a-a

Wow I'm great! I think that for me the hardest thing to draw are the hands and eyes as you always stay different from each other :(

Ha. I can't draw with my eyes open - maybe I should try the eyes closed method :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41