A collection of my portrait practice sessions (4 Portraits)

in #art7 years ago

When I first got into digital art I was constantly looking for subjects to practice with. It can get a little dull drawing strangers who you know nothing about and even duller drawing yourself all the time. I stumbled across a great community on reddit called r/redditgetsdrawn where users submit photos of themselves they would like to have made into art. It's really a special little community because even though there is no pay so many artists would paint/draw/sketch amazing creations for them. Below I have included 4 of my black and white portraits that I gifted.

During this period I was just getting used to digital so I was experimenting with lots of different styles!

Sketch10231158.jpg

Sketch26417315.jpg

Sketch6520418.jpg

Sketch3519588.jpg

These portrait sometimes came with stories or special moments attached so they were really a pleasure to make. I will be uploading more of these practice experiments in the future.

<3 Julia

alienbanner1.gif

Sort:  

I vote for the top one. Wait is this a contest? I'm so confused...

Thanks for the vote! Maybe I'll win a contest i didn't even know i entered! :D

I love all 4 of them but the third one really got my eye.
I would something like that drawing and hang it on my wall.
To me that drawing really tells a story!

Yes the original photo was beautiful she had such an intense look in here eyes! Thanks snakey!

Would love to know the stories behind them. Gorgeous by the way I wish I could draw xx

Thank you girlwithoutwings! You should go take a browse on the subreddit, its so interesting to see how artists can interpret an image so differently! There are lots of beginners practicing there as well!

Sounds interesting :) i so want to have a go!

I love the freckled girl, such a beautiful portrait.

Thank you the original image was gorgeous she was dappled with light and shadows from a tree :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Oh my goodness, I love that first one! Well done :D

Thank you dayleeo! The first one seems to be the favorite! I used to do these a few times a week when I had free time!

One day I'll hire you for a JuliaK original 🙏🏻

😀it would be my pleasure!

Your digital art is so beautiful. Some artist on here will do free sketches and then charge to finish or fill in and add color, have you thought about doing something similar?

I don't really have a plan per say I take each request individually, I haven't seen many people promoting portrait sketches I should poke around a bit and see what people are doing. I seem to be getting quite tight on time though so I will probably not want to promote it too much, maybe just when people ask!

I haven't seen portraits either, but people charge for random drawings people ask to be made or animated versions of themselves

I love these, especially the first one. You are very talented with digital medium. I'm trying to learn it myself and I'm having fun.

Thanks these were quite early on so I can see the crudeness a little. What software are you using?

It's called MyPaint for Linux. Here is a screen shot of the interface. What do you use?

Screenshot from 2017-08-29 22-41-37.png

MyPaint

I have used sketchbook artflow and now mostly infinite painter, I do all my digital art on my tablet because I don't have a wacom

My laptop has a touchscreen so I can use a stylus to do the art. I don't think I could do most of my stuff with just the track pad or mouse. Lots of artists seem to be using iPads, Macs or Surfaces. Whatever works for you.

oh julia, I'm always so amazed with your work! I love the lady at the top for sure. freckleface is cute. but the devil guy? idk... kinda weird,haha I'm curious about the original image you started that with

The devil guy was making a crazy face like that lol, I have none of the original reference pics unfortunately.

So beautiful. I love that top one!

Thank you Isaria!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58