Mini Lev - Sculpting a figurine

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey fellow Steemians,

Last year, I decided to make a small figuring of my on going comic character called Lev. My intention was to organize a little contest and have this as first prize!

tumblr_obtao3Vh8y1tgl0gzo6_400.jpg

1453403277.jpg

I used Fimo paste which you can sculpt for as long as you want then bake in the oven to solidify.
I initially bought black and white colors but ended up mixing it all together...

pate-fimo-noir-9-soft.jpg

What I should have done to avoid this is making these metal wire sculptures first and then apply the doe over it.

fa123c18206a332a79ed7b3a26abd53d.jpg

Instead I built it up 100% out of doe and that why it was hard for the whole thing to hold. The grey color doesn't bother me as the character is mostly black and white anyway... But a touch of paint would give the piece a finished look.

tumblr_obtao3Vh8y1tgl0gzo4_1280.jpg

tumblr_obtao3Vh8y1tgl0gzo5_1280.jpg

tumblr_obtao3Vh8y1tgl0gzo2_1280.jpg

I took great advice from @justaboutart who shared an awesome figurine on her blog. I will experiment more with this next month so we shall see how it goes.

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog.
Please go check out my comic, Shades Of Men, and let me know what you think.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

This looks so cool!!! I love it :)

Oh that's so nice of you! As I said I'll try to do it using several colors. I couldn't possibly sculpt it as cute as you do... But I'll try! ;-)

Thank you so much :) and i cant wait to see how it turns out!

Are you making another contest with a mini Lev? :)

Ha! I see you're interested! That's the one from last year but I'll try to make one again this summer. If it looks good enough I can give it away! Just gotta make sure it's a little smaller this time. Don't wanna get surprised with crazy postage fee! ;-D

Yeah!!! I'll enter the contest for sure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.05
ETH 2955.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13