Funding Shades Of Men - Update #1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

Here is my first update in this Fundition campaign. I'm glad I finally dared the crowd-funding ride for my comic. When I realized I had passed 80% of completion, I knew I had to move things forward.

Fundition allows me to find support for the project while sharing my progress in the meantime. It doesn't feel as stressful as a Kickstarter campaign to be honest. Maybe it should be.

About my progress recently...

With a temporary change of schedule, I know I haven't updated you guys, very frequently. But rest assured that I'm still working on my beloved comic.

Here is a sneak peek at page 114, which includes my attempt at a cool perspective and a crowd scene.

IMG_20181020_225907.jpg

IMG_20181020_230043.jpg

Might also be the reason why it's taking so long...

I'll finish this up eventually! I've been working steadily on the project recently. I was able to set aside a solid hour of uninterrupted drawing every day. ;-)


The Book

What I really wanted to share with you today, is more on how I envisioned the book.

jqy9jaco31uefzyqwpn6.jpg

You probably saw the sample picture from the campaign, but how would it actually feel like? That is a very good question my friends?

My main inspiration for the book would be the Walking Dead soft cover series. I have many at home and I really liked the feel of it. It is roughly the same number of pages, has a nice matte cover and a grainy textured paper inside.

dsc_04921.jpg

The-Walking-Dead-Vol-1-11-Image-Softcover-Graphic.jpg

One thing is Shades Of Men would be in full color. Of course, ll discuss the details further more with the printer as we get closer to the project's completion.

In the end, I think the book should feel pretty rough to match the tone of the story. I don't know how I feel about shiny/glossy effects. Lev would never agree to that! ;-)


Chapter Breaks

My story is currently structured in chapters. A total of 12 to be precise.

Every chapter being 11 pages, there would be a blank paper in between each sequence.

My goal is to add a sketchy illustration on that blank page.

This would allow me to play a little more with side characters, include dialogue that wouldn't fit in the main story line, or simply draw more cool poses. I saw that reading the manga Bleach a while back.

Untitled.jpg

Hopefully this brings a lighter mood without breaking the reading experience too much.

I know I could do chapter covers instead, but at the moment, my focus is on finishing the main comic. I wouldn't want to rush on cover illustrations just to fit them in.

I have tons of ideas for funny sketches.
I'll share more on that later on.


And that's all I had for you today!

Thanks for reading through this and for any support you can bring to the project.

I'd love to hear what you think of it so far.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Fundition

1465105493.jpg

20246031_10155607673149936_1960962138656277974_n.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing work, @jrej ! I hope you will get all the funding you need for this project :) Love your work!!!

Hey thanks for the lovely comment. It's nice to have positive feedback like this. Any ideas of rewards that people would enjoy?

That's a lot of people! Must be quite some work to draw all of them nicely and proportionately :D.
                         
This is a nice first update to your project. I'm looking forward to the next one ^_^.

Very nice skills :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55