Trick or Treat, Milk to Drink?

in #art6 years ago (edited)

StarTrekMilkColor01.png

I took my youngest daughter trick-or-treating last night in our Pasadena neighborhood and it was a fun time. Our Southern California city is one of the best places I've ever been to for trick-or-treating. People really get into the spirit of things here! In fact, the are we go to for trick-or-treating is so lively! Neighbors set up lawn chairs on the front yard to greet people and some even seem to be having family friendly parties on their front porch as they pass out candy. This SoCal trick-or-treating experience is unlike any I have ever seen in all my previous Chicago years. I am aware that people are festive and creative all over the planet, but the people we have encountered while trick or treating here in Pasadena are certainly memorable.

For the occasion, my daughter was elegantly dressed up as a Star Trek officer and we saw all sorts of interesting people in costumes. One of them was a person dressed up as a milk carton, complete with a straw attached to the carton. It was a very creative and looked like a hand-made costume. I knew I had to draw it as soon as I saw it. Gratefully I had my sketchbook with me and I started sketching right in the midst of the trick-or-treat crowd. Naturally, such things led me to create this cartoon. The humorous and milky conversation depicted in my cartoon only took place in my imagination, but hopefully you will get a nutritious kick out of it too.

Joe Chiappetta
http://SillyDaddy.net

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg
SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and create quality content here, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post was Runner up in this weeks 'Show us Your California' contest!
SCSreplybanner.jpg

So, now I'm wondering, @joechiappetta, how old your youngest daughter is and how she got into Star Trek? :) I'm sure there are plenty of young female fans, but they're not the ones you typically hear about (the 30-40 year old males).

It certainly would have been funny had the conversation taken place as depicted, but even so, I think it worked out just as well in this cartoon you created.

My wife and I along with our two sons lived in Orange County, and I have to agree, it does get pretty festive and innovative. I can't say I'm that into it myself, but I did appreciate being able to go to a mall and take the kids trick or treating there.

That was over 25 years ago now, so no longer getting either of them around to trick or treating. In short order, they will doing that with their own children. The circle of life continues. :)

My youngest is a young teen and she got into Star Trek through my wife and I really watching a lot of the shows over the year. We are pretty selective about what we watch and Star Trek has a history of high quality content over the years. Yes indeed, that circle of life does go on and on!

One of them was a person dressed up as a milk carton, complete with a straw attached to the carton.

A straw, in California? Isn’t that against the law?

Hah, that is hilarious and probably soon to be true.

I always thought that the trick should be performed by the visitor, am I wrong?

Good point. Also I think everyone gets to be extra silly on this day.

Thank you joechiappetta! You've just received an upvote of 80% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51