Cannot See It All and That's OK

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Sketch230154825.png

Artwork can be anything, but some forms are more impressive than others. That's the nature of the creative process. Many of my comics come from sketches like this that--in their initial state--I have no complete vision for. Yet such things come over time in the California sun.

This simple sketch is loosely derived from an exciting walk through a warehouse/workshop in Irwindale, California. That is where teams of gifted and resourceful artists and engineers construct the floats for the Pasadena Rose Parade. Seeing these in-progress floats being constructed, I acquired a deep appreciation for this art form, especially since moving to Southern California a few years ago.

The whimsical float contraptions are magnificent mobile works of art, in perhaps what I have come to consider as one of the highest forms of art because it is a multi-disciplined endeavor. In fact, the unfinished states of these parade float constructions are just as much forms of fantastic art as the final versions of the constructions. People come to Pasadena from all over the world to see the floats on every New Year's Day. And it really is an unforgettable sight to see along the sunny Pasadena streets, especially for those with an appreciation for art that goes far beyond the boundaries of a museum wall.

With renewed respect for the incubating yet interesting nature of works in progress, I have gained a fresh resolve to show more of my in-progress and even completely unfinished works. Of course I will still finish works of art as usual, but "finish" is a relative term. As long as life remains a work in progress, so shall art!

Joe Chiappetta
http://SillyDaddy.net

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg
SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and create quality content here, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

You've made me remember the great experiences I had at Notting Hill Carnival. Such an amazing, collective and collaborative form of art. People of all shapes, sizes, colours, ideas, fashion-trends, interests, and so much more coming together and creating a cacophony of mediums. Art!

I am so glad this art and commentary brought back good memories for you!

art that goes far beyond the boundaries of a museum wall.

Congratulations @joechiappetta, your post won 1st prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

Thank you joechiappetta! You've just received an upvote of 65% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44