Bird on a Lantern

in #art6 years ago (edited)

20181120_143509.png

I drew this digital art at the Los Angeles County Arboretum on a fun outing with my wife @denisechips recently. I am in the process of turning this drawing into an animated statement about crypto market volatility. What does a little bird perched pleasantly atop a fancy outdoor lantern have to do with such things? Wait and see.

But if you don't care about all that, then this art is also designed to be enjoyable as a simple view of nature at one of the most peaceful spots in all of Southern California, and currently with free admission once a month! My wife and I go here frequently and I highly recommend it if you like nature and gardens and open spaces. I drew this sketch on the flagstone benches near the square pond just southwest of the main entrance to the arboretum.

After creating it on the iPad with Apple Pencil in Procreate, I then took a photo of it using my smartphone, and that's when something unexpectedly wonderful happened; The black parts of the drawing on the iPad were reflecting the Southern California sky and treeline. So this art piece is extra experimental, combining photography with drawing and painting. I think that is part of my main reason for making art. It is about communication as well as experimentation.

Joe Chiappetta
http://SillyDaddy.net

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg
#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you're from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post won last weeks Mystery Photo Friday contest!

Thank you joechiappetta! You've just received an upvote of 80% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Hi Joe! I'm thinking, can somebody create SMT for selling rare digital art on the Steem blockchain?

Posted using Partiko Android

I am not sure. I keep hearing about SMTs but until they are launched , I really do not know. It would be nice to issue rare digital art directly on the Steem blockchain though.

By the way, I have signed up with Makers Place to sell my rare digital art. They use Ethereum blockchain and are based in San Francisco.

Posted using Partiko Android

Impressive and outstanding work you have shared :)

Thank you for participating in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53