One of my Inktobers : Euryale from Fate Grand Order! (Day#2)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! 

Today I am going to be starting my first art process post. The piece I'm going to share my process today is this piece! 

Euryale from Fate Grand Order, a character from a popular mobile game that is also now available in the US. I drew this piece for my day 2 of Inktober


_________________________________________________________________ 

1. Preparing Tools


First, in order to prepare for the illustration I bring out my stationery and sketchbooks. This is what i used

  • Maruman F1 Art Spiral Sketchbook (Rough texture 156.6 Gram)
  • Pentel Soft Erasor
  • Mechanical Pencil with 0.5HB Lead
  • Copic Multiliner 0.1 | Black

_________________________________________________________________ 

2. Look for Reference


Since I already have a character I want to draw in my mind, I then look for the reference for the character herself and also for the pose I am going to draw her. Drawing using reference to me is an important tool set in order to improve. Despite drawing in a cartoonish style, learning from real life image is still essential.

*Official art of Euryale from the game*

*Reference Picture I'm using*

_________________________________________________________________ 

3. Sketching


With that in mind, I start with laying down the sketches using pencil. I'm trying to get the general shape of the reference down and adding in the details of the character while sketching. I try to not make the sketch too clutter and still be able to tell who am I drawing.

 *Pencil sketch done.* 

(I forgot to take the photo when it is still circles and lines I'm sorry about that T_T.)

_________________________________________________________________ 

4. Inking Process


First, I erase the pencil line. I make it so that the lines are still barely visible.I did this in order to make it easier to read the lines I ink in later, and to not lose the rough sketch I already drew.

*Inked in the face and deleted most of the sketch lines*

  • A note worth mentioning, I inked in the face first do to it being the place where most people would first look at. It is an important part of the drawing that need the most care.

_________________________________________________________________ 

I continue to ink in major lines first. While doing that I also hatched some of the areas in order to create depth and make the character more popped out. 

_________________________________________________________________ 

5. Finishing


With all of the details laid down. I deleted the rest of the pencil lines and scanned it in my computer. With some post processing in Photoshop. I usually fiddle with the Level and Curve adjustment option, it helps making line illustration more popped out in my opinion. 

Finally, this is the final result!

_________________________________________________________________ 


Thank you for reading! If you enjoy my process don't forget to upvote and follow me for more posts. I will likely going to post more of my inktober drawings. I might also post updates on a digital piece I am currently working on.

Comments are highly appreciated especially critiques on my piece. Getting feedback from fellow artists are what make us grew stronger.

See you in the next post!


Sort:  

Amazing skill you've got there! I'm wondering will you color it later because it seems like a fun exercise to see.

thanks! but probably not. If i am going to colour it, it would be digitally

Congratulations @jobson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice! I love finding great artists around here.

thank you!

Congratulations @jobson! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jobson! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51