You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fundamental Foundations Of Art #1: Negativespace-10 SBD Bonus Contest Included!

in #art7 years ago (edited)


I took this post as an opportunity to dig a little deeper into the possibilities of negative space.
...:: OO ::...
Here are my main reasons I use negative space:
  1. When I Illustrate sometimes it is necessary to be able to read the image fast without adding much detail. The difference between the horses is an example. The right picture hard to read from the negative space and the left pretty easy.

  2. Make something pop from the background. In the left horse photo you can see the tail and the background blend. And in the drawing it suddenly pop out.

  3. Proportion check. I use the negative space to check proportions. For example in the left horse picture. How big is the negative space under the head compared to the one underneath the front legs?

  4. Get away from unnecessary details. Many times I skip details in some part of a picture because the negative space tell the most important stuff anyway. There is no need drawing the background of the left horse picture. It is more interesting to ad details where the focus goes - to the horse.


Horse.jpg

Sort:  

Great job! oh I just noticed the name! u are on fast track to 10 SBD

Huge thanks to everyone who participated in my first contest! I am Happy to say I received a good amount of quality entries.
It was a hard decision, but after carful consideration I have decided to award the 10 SBD to @jnart for his deep understanding and excellent elaboration on the importance of reading negative space. So Congratulations @jnart I hope to see your participation in future posts.

I will! Thank you! And if you don't mind ad on info like the one I did. Tell me if you disagree :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60951.51
ETH 3381.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48