Fundamental Foundations Of Art #1: Negativespace-10 SBD Bonus Contest Included!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Fundamental Foundations Of Art

Welcome artists and art lovers to the first edition of a brand new Steemit series!

Todays lesson will be NEGATIVE SPACE

here ya go.jpg

Big thanks to @rcarter and @ghulammujtaba who actually gave me this idea. It had been brought to my attention that although many people enjoyed looking and reading though my full portrait art lessons, a lot of people who were interested in learning felt that the art pieces were to big of a project to tackle first time around with out prior background knowledge of the Fundamental Foundations Of Art

After some deep thought, I concluded that I knew exactly how I could go about helping beginner artists out in a big way. I hope that these posts not only intrigue but inspire, and after reading through them you will want to go grab a pencil and put your newly learned knowledge to the test.

Learning what negative space is and knowing how to utilize seeing it, will make a world of difference for an artist. After many years of drawing I started noticing it everywhere, and immediately imagine how I would go about drawing that object.
If you can master negative space then you will be able to capture correct angles of any portrait and there for likeness.

So what is negative space?
It is simply put, everything that the subject isn't.

Through this exercise I am going to help you to convey a convincing form that resembles the subject quiet well, With out ever drawing any of the actual mass or detail of the plant. While at the same time building a skill that you will carry with you through out your entire artist career.

Take this image for example

Notice all of the shapes in between the leaves, and forming the outer rim of the plant. If we can capture these shapes well enough, then through them a greater detailed image can be formed. You can use this image or any house hold item with detail to try this at home. Shade in all of the negative space dark, while leaving the subject white.

So lets start with the exercise.

Use this as an opportunity to practice drawing lines on the paper with out looking at it. Let your subconscious feel out the lines and guide their shape. Make sure you are constantly looking back and forth as to not get wrapped up in the lines on your page rather the angles in your subject.

1.JPG

Proceed to shade in all of the negative space around the subject revealing the positive space inside in high contrast.

3.JPG

Now that you have mastered negative space, you have the skills to tackle any subject with confidence you can convey a convincing likeness.

here ya go.jpg

Bonus Contest:

I have decided to make things interesting.

To incentivize participation I will be GIVING AWAY 10 SBD to the person who participates in this exercise and creates the best example of negative space.

You can use either the provided reference image or what ever house hold object you feel fit for the exercise. Extra SBD may be tipped for creativity and extraordinary entries.

Submit your entries by either posting a picture of it in the comments or creating your own post and including the URL in the comments

Rules:

  • Must be an original

  • Must include Username/date

  • Must be submitted with in 7 days of this post. Pay out is the cut off.

Good Luck Everyone, and have fun!

Barry F Samways

Sort:  


I took this post as an opportunity to dig a little deeper into the possibilities of negative space.
...:: OO ::...
Here are my main reasons I use negative space:
  1. When I Illustrate sometimes it is necessary to be able to read the image fast without adding much detail. The difference between the horses is an example. The right picture hard to read from the negative space and the left pretty easy.

  2. Make something pop from the background. In the left horse photo you can see the tail and the background blend. And in the drawing it suddenly pop out.

  3. Proportion check. I use the negative space to check proportions. For example in the left horse picture. How big is the negative space under the head compared to the one underneath the front legs?

  4. Get away from unnecessary details. Many times I skip details in some part of a picture because the negative space tell the most important stuff anyway. There is no need drawing the background of the left horse picture. It is more interesting to ad details where the focus goes - to the horse.


Horse.jpg

Great job! oh I just noticed the name! u are on fast track to 10 SBD

Huge thanks to everyone who participated in my first contest! I am Happy to say I received a good amount of quality entries.
It was a hard decision, but after carful consideration I have decided to award the 10 SBD to @jnart for his deep understanding and excellent elaboration on the importance of reading negative space. So Congratulations @jnart I hope to see your participation in future posts.

I will! Thank you! And if you don't mind ad on info like the one I did. Tell me if you disagree :)

It is nice to have you giving some art lessons :)

Let's get into it...

We can have some negative space by including a shape which fills some white space.

As you can see on this example the most vibrant shape on the canvas is the fuccia dot in the middle surrounded by a frame which creates stress due to the negative space.

negative space #1.png

On this example we have the fuccia dot in the middle without the black frame, immediately you feel relaxed because there is no close distances on the canvas. The negative space has been released :)

negative space #2.png

Have a good night, keep it up buddy!

Hi Friend, I see some good ones on here :) I was not able to finish mine in time, had crazy busy weekend!!! I will be checking back though, excited to find out who wins :) Have a GREAT start to your week!! SUNSHINE247

This looks like an interesting idea :) lets see if i can do it

awesome! post your finished product here with all the requirements for your chance to win 10 sbd!

Nice to see this kind of post. Think many will love it. I'm a professional portrait artist but will probably learn something new. Hope you keep on going for a while. I can give you tips for topics if you run out of ideas :)

Fantastic! that's what I call a collaborative community. If they end up going well I may even start paying you for them ;D Love the support. Cheers!

Awesome! Thanks for remembering... I've always loved to draw, but haven't had much success with it.

I'm totally interested in this contest also.

Thanks a ton,

_Rob

glad to see you check it out my friend! thanks again for the idea. cheers

That Steemit series is going to be my favorite! Thank you for posting it

Great post, thank you for sharing your knowledge! I was inspired by your post to practice negative space, here is my blog post about it: https://steemit.com/drawing/@helenril/my-drawing-journey-1-negative-space
Let me know what you think :)

I like this post, thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49