Mixed Media Artwork - Mask

in #art6 years ago

image

These Eyes Bear No Soul,
3D Collage,
Jaundré M. van Breda,
2018


I started doing collage work recently and find so many possibilities with it. It's a really cheap medium as well. Here I made use of a mask, scraps of paper, a varnish and glue combo and a board. The following pics show my progress at various stages:

image

image

image

image

image


I plan to do quite a few more collage pieces.
Thank you and I hope this is somewhat inspiring to others.

Sort:  

This is an excellent art because it is both creepy and beautiful. The creepiness comes from the mask because I always find them a little haunting and the beauty comes from what you did to it, very nice and creative :).          
         
-upvoted-          

Thank you. I find them a little creepy as well.

It's a really nice piece, the third eye was a nice touch. My father-in-law did a couple collage/functional art pieces, one had a similar look, it was part of an entertainment center. I think what really set this piece off was the crossword puzzles. lol, it would be something to encode a message on the crossword pieces.

The third eye was done purely by chance, lol. I only noticed it later. I would love to see his work. Thank you for your time to comment. Much appreciated.

Really neat look and feel, well done!

Hello this is pretty impressive!!!the face is so well done i really like to see the differents steps you took to realized it:)

I'm glad you like it.

howdy from Texas jmvanbreda! this was indeed inspiring. I didn't know people were doing this type of art so this is very different and interesting.
So you just buy a mask and have some newspaper or magazines laying around for your main material, then you use your imagination and follow the instructions and start creating, I like that.
And you have done many of these which you will put on posts?

Hi there. I have made a couple so far. 3D collage is actually a thing I only recently discovered. I will post a few more posts with my collage work. It's fun experimenting with mixed media. Thank you for your interest.

howdy back sir jmvanbreda..yes it's a very unusual and interesting medium to work with so thank you for enlightening us!

No problem. Have a lovely day.

All art is subjective and this doesn't really do it for me to be honest but what i can appreciate is the skill that went into making the project. It's great to have a passion for something and the ability to follow through on it.
I just wouldn't hang it on my wall as it has a hint of serial killer to it :)

I appreciate your thoughts. Serial killers are people too, lol.

I appreciate
Your thoughts. Serial killers
Are people too, lol.

                 - jmvanbreda


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Absolutly and a lot of them tend to be very artistic as well. John gacy, Charles manson even Hitler. Starting to see a pattern here actually....hmmm

Posted using Partiko Android

I read Hitler painted.

A face with plenty faces. lol. It quite incredible, what a fun project that must have been... I love the colorful background.

Thank you. It was heaps of fun creating this.

Hi jmvanbreda,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87