Eyes Like Marilyn, Dreams Like Manson (2018)

in #art6 years ago

image

image

Eyes Like Marilyn, Dreams Like Manson
2018
Pen on paper
Jaundré M. van Breda

Here's another gel- and ballpoint pen drawing I did over the weekend using my original technique. I started with the face and pretty much just added the smaller details around it. There is a sense of infinite space that goes beyond and 'into' the page.

The title of this work is inspired by Marilyn Monroe and Charles Manson, not to be confused with Marilyn Manson.

Here are pics of my progress creating this:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image


image

Sort:  

Oh Juandre ! What a lovely piece :) The stark contrast between your delicate fineliner ink and the framing/border bolder ink gives such a sharp and beautiful finish to this portrait <3 Gorgeous piece, and the step by step is wonderfully presented, as usual <3

I love her dark, dark eyes, the sideways glance is very mysterious * ___ * Beautiful work on emotionality~

Congratulations for Curie, as well <3

Users like you make Steemit a great place to be. Thanks Lise.

Hi jmvanbreda,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Good stuff. Keep doing it.

Thank you!

I loved the technique you used! excellent, greetings from Venezuela.

Thank you very much! And greetings from South Africa.

It is a very interesting technique. Sure you have mastered it after a lot of practice and discipline. It's really a good job, I like what you've done.

Thank you! I enjoy creating and I think that's the main thing. Whatever you do passionately you try to do well.

Lovely picture. I like that despite the fact that we can only see half of the face, it is enough to show us the character's expression. I like the techno border that surrounds this person as well =).
                         
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Thank you very much! I'm glad you like it.

Hi @jmvanbreda, I like this painting. You were so detailed in the drawing. All the small object you add on to the other half of the face, I assumed that was Charles Manson’s dream. Your drawing could make people imagination run wild. When I looked at the drawing, I saw a face passed through a paper or wall. Then the small little objects look like film, so I assumed that was a dream. You have expressed it well in a painting. How you draw all the little object? Your eye sight must be very sharp. And the black beside the face, you also color it by using pen?
Nice work @jmvanbreda.

Hello. Yes, everything is done in pen. You have to be patient to draw all the little details. Thank you for your much welcomed interest.

@jmvanbreda, I totally agree that patience is the key with this type of fine art drawing. Beside color by pen, do you paint with water color marker as well?

I only tried watercolor paint before, and it was a disaster.

@jmvanbreda. I can visualize the situation. I was self learnt color pencil coloring. I love to color by using color pencil. Once, i tried to color and shaded with color marker pen, it was so messy that I cound't cover the mess.

This made me smile. I think I'll try charcoal again.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

The shading and texture for the face is something I find really interesting in this piece. It's simple to render and time consuming. I use less of that technique as it tested my patience in drawing often XD

By now I'm so used to it. I can't really do it any other way, except pointillism, which is even more time consuming.

You know what's funny? I do pointillism and it doesn't seem like time consuming for me. I just realized it must be how we are comfortable with a particular style. :D

That's interesting. It's good to share our experiences. We can always learn something.

The face is good but i really like the detailed artwork around the edges. I've always had a fascination for designs and puzzles so my eyes will always get drawn to designs like that.

The face isn't my best work so I tried doing the piece justice by adding more details. I'm glad you like it. Thank you.

No worries. I always get entranced by art like this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85