Alive in Two WorldssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago


The past is never dead. It's not even past: William Faulkner

It is impossible to wander the streets of Valencia without being shadowed by memories, all of them beautiful, like the city itself. Each memory carries feelings of peace and comfort, because during the months when I first lived here, an unexpected new world revealed itself. It was not only the Spanish language -- a new way of thinking -- but also new friends and a Spain that was beyond the horizon of my American imagination.

Living in Valencia would not have been possible without the kindness and generosity of Toti and Manolo Blasco, who allowed me to stay in one of their homes and to create a painting studio in a vacant flat in their building on the Gran Vía. It had no water or electricity but as the days grew shorter from summer into autumn, I simply moved my easel closer to the windows to take advantage of the dwindling daylight.


Studio, Gran Vía, 1990

During those months, I painted in the afternoons. In the mornings, there were classes in Spanish at the Centro Internacional de la Lengua y Cultura Española in the oldest part of the city. Walking through the narrow streets, preparing for classes by conjugating out loud the imperfect subjunctive of irregular verbs—fuera, fueras, fuera, fuéramos, fuerais, fueran made me feel self-conscious, at first. But everyone -- pedestrians on their way to work, street sweepers, dog-walkers -- ignored me, except on one morning when an old woman mopping the sidewalk in front of a shoe store gave me the gift of a wave and a smile.


Noche Valencia - Oil/canvas - 26 x 32 inches

I don't remember what attracted me to painting night scenes, but the image above shows one of two versions of the same street corner. I wondered what the scene looked like now, but did not expect to see such a radical change, as you can observe in the photograph.


Noche Valencia, photo 2019

I miss the embracing lovers and hope they are still alive and still in love. I also hope I'm not alone in preferring the painting to the photo, but it doesn't matter one way or another. Everything changes, whether we like it or not. The Valencia of today is another world from the world of years ago. The city of tomorrow will be different from that of today. Now if I could only figure out how to paint both worlds at the same time. Stay tuned.



Original blog: https://johnmichaelkeating.com/2019/10/14/alive-in-two-worlds/
Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Many thanks, helpies!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you all!

This is absolutely beautiful, John ! I love how you invoked a sense of memories, through your words, I can feel the traces of Valencia's touches over you. It's like the warmth of the sun that are left behind under our skin even long after the actual sun's gone away... Absolutely gorgeous.

Twittered it, too, as part of my work with OCD's external curation :)

Many thanks for the tweet as well.

Such a beautiful painting John. The soft tones and the buildings dwarfing the lovers are absolutely wonderful. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank you, Alison, for reading the post and especially for your kind words in reply. I checked out your site and will be following you. More of my posts from Spain will come along soon. I hope you will enjoy them too.

Hello @jmkartworks, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you, creativecrypto! I'm following you as of now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74