My Entry For Drawing and Coloring CONTEST by: @osm0sis in support to A Walk Of Hope project by @steemph

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This is my final entry for the contest in Drawing and Coloring CONTEST by: @osm0sis
Recently this afternoon I saw this post https://steemit.com/art/@osm0sis/drawing-and-coloring-contest-win-sbd-s
It was stated that it is inviting steemians to join in the said contest. By simply following the mechanics and the provided image by @osm0sis. Where you can create your own drawing using the main image just follow these rules and guidelines.

Rules and guidelines for the contest:

•one submission per person
•create your own post featuring your drawing + drop the link of your post in the comments below (or I will miss it)
•you are free to use any medium you wish (pencils, digital, collage... whatever floats your boat)
•submissions will no longer be accepted after the post has payed out in 7 days
•if you enter this contest, please also upvote this post (all sbd's from the post go to charity)

final draw.PNG

I'm not good in drawing but I have skills in graphic designing. So I decided to join and create my own style how to make an entry which is merely the same as pencil sketch. The title of my entry is!!!

Why people getting unsocial because of social media

My created entry is a combination of digital art and graphic designing. I used layering type of editing the image removing the background and merging layers. I removed the coin and replace it with cellphone or gadget and added tree of social media which is grabbed from the web. I searched, collect and select to the images after.

Why gadget? Nowadays people are very dependent with technology and cellphones is one of the example. People can't survive with out their phones, they always think if they don't have it they are not belong to the real world. Their life is connected to the innovation of technology and we cannot deny it. On this picture you will see that they are rushing towards to the cellphone which they consider it as their basic needs even if it is belong to people wants not needs.

Everything is connected if you have gadget you cannot escape to the World of Social Media. Why people getting unsocial because of social media? people never notice that social media separates them from real life. Let me ask you this question. Can you survive in a certain place without your phone and without social media for a month?" like its your first time to visit Italy and you cant take pictures or even update your social media followers? I don't think so.
Everywhere, people are part of it and they tend to include their selves to that trend. Even I experienced that, social media control our daily activities people love taking pictures before eating their food in a restaurant and share it to social media, Group of friends are not talking because all of them are busy on their phones. So how can you enjoy if social media dominates your daily life..

Social media is like a tree with fruits, people are very excited what they can get. Either to feed them or give income and use it as source of living. In present Era no matter what is your status in life, people are updated and adapt any changes. Most especially in technology and digital world of social media. That's why I added the social media tree in my creation together with the gadget and remove the coin. Because these are two things have the same impact to people need and desire nowadays.

Why super girl body I added to the incomplete image of old women head. It is still connected to the title of my creation, We people always loves to follow the trend most especially what we can see in social media. We don't even realize we are enslaved to that activity of being addicted to any forms related to it. Like this old women she is also updated what is happening in the digital world. She'd follows whatever ever changes that is happening caused by social media.

I also added my motto in life which is race beyond limits. As a person that full of intensified desire to reach my dreams. I should surpassed whatever I have today, I never set limitations towards that goal . As long I can manage to go beyond that dreams and as long that goal is perpetually available. Why should I stop or even limit my self if I can Race Beyond Limits!!

Now let me show to you how I created this Entry using GIMP 2.8 Software Photo Editor desktop Application

First, before adding the image go to the file menu select, then it will pop up after and you to select the dimension of file. I choose 1760 pixels for width and 800 pixels for the height.

mag.PNG

Simply drag the image from your folder directly to gimp

draw1.PNG

then add the second image doing the same process by simply dragging.

Now we are going to remove and cut the background manually using the different tools. but before that go to layers and brushes menu click the image you want to work with then right click and look for add alpha channel then click, and repeat by choosing the alpha to selection in second time. this process allows you to remove the background layer in transparency mode.

draw3.PNG

This time what we only need is the tree image , so we have to remove the white background. Do the same process before removing. Go to layer and brushes section. click the image layer select add alpha channel and click again then choose alpha to selection. Now it is easy to remove the background by using the select by color tool ma3.PNG just click this icon and click the color you want to remove. Because we don't need the background simply click the color black then click delete using you keypad. then go to select menu on the top just click none.

If you're done removing the background and you want to move it in proper position? just use the moving tool in tool box menu by clicking this icon ma9.PNG

Adding this Third image and to remove the background or move the image after. Do the same process as what you did to the second image.

draw4.PNG

Now for the fourth image we need the body of super girl to attach on the old lady head. We have to remove again the white background and manually erase the head of super girl using eraser tool.

draw6.PNG

After you manually erase the no longer needed portion use the layering scale in tool section to resize the image to fit on old lady head. After that I draw a hair using pencil tool on old woman image.

draw7.PNG

This time we are going to color the images manually using the spray tool in tool section. You can adjust the size and zoom the image to avoid the color getting out of the sketch. Before applying colors click the eye icon on layers and brushes section to make the blue background invisible while doing the coloring process.

draw 10.PNG

If you want to change the color of your air brush you can change it in tool option. By doing all the same process is coloring until you finish the process.

draw11.PNG

And for the final merge all the layer by simply clicking the right click on the image layer then look for merge visible layers and all layer will become one layer. Last to add text using the adding text tool you can put any text if you want.

final draw.PNG

This entry is also my support to the upcoming " A Walk Of Hope project by @steemph " Here in my place City of Bacolod to be conducted by Our steemian friend @flabbergast-art and his team in the Philippines are about to embark on a journey: a walk through the towns and villages of Visayas and Mindanao, doing what they love best, teaching Music and Arts to the underprivileged.

flabber.png

Then @jezmacher as part of the upsizing growing community team like @steemph @steemphnegros @steem-untalented @artguild @steemgigs @philippines @bayanihan @steemphcebu @steemphdavao @steemphdavao @steemphuae they curate and support others work for progression. As day goes by these communities are spreading and increasing in numbers.

don't forget to support @surpassinggoogle for his generosity and kindness by simply voting @steemgigs as your witness

g2.PNG

or if you want @surpassinggoogle to choose as your proxy just key in @surpassinggoogle

g1.PNG

please do also support my ever supportive friends my discord family @smaeunabs @epicdominic @watersnake @cejero21 @mabzter @jaypeesun07 @iamqueenlevita @oscargabat @gailbelga @luvabi @dreamiely @bearone @st3llar @dwightaden @cloh76 @princepr @immarojas @allmonitors and the rest of @steemph family.

Just leave you comments, upvote , and resteem
Thank you for visiting!!



Sort:  

thank you!!! it took me 7 hours to finish this post...

I can relate to that, I would say 15 is my max :D

Yuck 15! Have a life mate.

LOL.. 7 hours non-stop work..

I have. I'm flying a spaceship right now and the football is on too!

Can relate Asher???

maybeee :)

I like what's been done to the drawing, very cool!

The iPad surprised me...and wonder girl ahahaha!
Sylvia is stoked!

famous-paintings-van-gogh-vermeer-flowers-american-gothic-bahadur-shah-fishing-boats-frida-monalisa-starry-night-coloring-pages-kids-.gif

this is the first option before supergirl

Excellent post and entry @jezmacher! The issue you raise of our societies' addiction to social media is most appropriate, and I'm a big fan of your motto :)
I can tell you must have spent a lot of time on it. Thanks for guiding us through your designing process.
Best of luck to you 😊

even if I don't win this contest.. your comment make me smile like a winner.. its heartfelt feeling if someone's appreciated my work.. I will take note on that.. Thank you very much!!

You are so welcome. You deserve it.

Thank you!!! GOD BLESS

excellent drawing and excellent art jezmacher

thanks... its more on editing.. digital art coloring..

yes digital art colors

thanks... I'm so glad you like it!!

Amazing art with a great message behind :D

I bought my mom a smartphone last month and geez noon, kami ang pinagsasabihan nya na palagi nalang na c-cp, nagyon kami na naman ang nagsasabi sa kanya hahahah halos hindi na makapagluto ng kanin dahil na aaliw na sa all-day na pag fb

yeah.. Effect of social media and technology...pag napasok yung Sistema mu.. mhirap makawala...that's why nagiging unsocial na tyo.. hehehe.. thanks.. its my entry for contest..

I learned alot, since I don't have talent like that, thank you for sharing.

your welcome.. thanks for dropping

This is really fun @jezmacher, my favorite part is the bizarre supergirl/oldwoman - awesome. And great theme/story!

thank you that you like my entry.. thanks for visiting my profile.. I will follow you..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63