Drawing blue jays alerting an anxious dingo

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Another older artwork that I used in an exhibition. Here's a quick walk through of the process.

Coyote 2.jpg

scan1 1.jpg

Rough pencil sketch. I wasn't going to do anything with this but I decided to take it further.



dingo-grey.jpg

I've started adding the base colours in here. The artwork style and scene is kind of reminiscent of old cartoon animations.



scan1 333.jpg

Starting to add some colour and detail here. This was an alternate colour palette I was testing out



dingo-gif.gif

This anxious dingo has just awoken from his slumber to the smell of burning lumber. The distant bush land is ablaze while a group of blue jays are going mad. He sips his coffee in somber before escaping through the haze..

Sort:  

Cute dingo. I like the final placement of the paw, I think it was a bit weird in the sketch but the end result is nice. The colours are beautiful, love the muted blue green colours against the brownish yellow of the dingo.
                       
Since the forest is on fire and he's sipping his mug of coffee, it reminds me of that burning doggo meme pic XD.

Thank you! I know the meme you speak of, now that you mention it! I like it, Its dankness is of high caliber and has aged well like a fine wine

Oh gosh, you captured his anxiety and his procrastination coping mechanism so palpably ! Gorgeous characterization work on the dingo's face, @jeremyrfk ! I love this !!! <3

Thank you Spider, glad you like him!

What a beautiful work, Jeremy! Truly awesome! 😄

PS: Have you considered posting through https://elegance.blue or https://esteem.app to increase the visibility of your posts?

I honestly forgot about elegance! I'll try it out! Thanks man.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @jeremyrfk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

He is so adorable. Those eyes are cute :) What are these birds waiting for? :) Another great one Jeremy!

Thank you! I think they are trying to warn their four legged friend

Interesting idea and great photos of the drawing process!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45