Drawing a skull and tiger tattoo concept

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Quick walk through of designing an artwork for a tattoo portfolio. Late last year I put together a second tattoo portfolio for review for an apprenticeship and this is one of the artworks.


tiger 2 33.jpg

I never ended up going for the apprenticeship... yet. I wanted to see how long I could last as a full time freelance artist before I went insane, cut off my ear or submitted to a life of crime slinging drugs. Neither of those things have happened yet, but the days are still early.


P1010113 22.jpg

Here's the rough sketch I worked on. I was mostly having a bit of fun at this point. The basic idea I had in mind was to have a tiger enveloped within two skulls.


Tiger skull sketch 2 3.jpg

I've put the pencil sketch on a separate layer to begin with and have started adding the base colours. As the artwork progresses I flatten most of the layers to keep the design phase flowing smoothly and quick.

Occasionally I will keep new layers or ideas on a separate layer until i'm confident with merging it with the rest of the artwork.



tiger 2.jpg

Finished!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jeremyrfk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh yeah, that is one awesome tattoo design. I love the circular flow that you designed here, and of course how you painted it all <3.
                             
Lovely as always, Jeremy.

Thank you for the kind words : ) @scrawly!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

So cool ! I love this so much, @jeremyrfk ! The design and the colours are really nice ! The arrows on the tiger makes me feel anxious a little for its well being though . ___ .

Thank you @veryspider! I have word from a reliable source that the tiger is safe and seeking vengeance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82