ORIGINAL MINI PAINTING - 'Birds in Her Heart'

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Guys! I mentioned this artwork in my previous post, so here it is - 'Birds In Her Heart', another original miniature painting from my 3" x 3" mixed media 'Minis' collection.

birdsinherheart-steemit.jpg
'Birds in Her Heart', January 30th 2018. Mixed media on 3" x 3" upcycled archival card. Acrylics, ink, and Posca pens


How many birds can you see? Let me know in the comments below - I'm always fascinated by the different ways people see abstract art in general, and my own work in particular. I've got to admit that in this case, I hadn't spotted even a SINGLE bird until my fella pointed one out to me - and then...birds...4 of 'em for me! (One of them is either a baby parrot, or a dolphin!) The title became obvious when I realised that they'd manifested without my conscious intent - birds on my mind, birds in my life, birds on my canvas - birds in my heart!


birdsinherheart-steemit-2.jpg
'Birds In Her Heart', whilst still a work in progress... At this stage, I hadn't yet added my 'signature' (starting to feel that way, anyway!) circles, and only one of the 'birds' is obviously visible.


I find working on these little minis incredibly uplifting. And to my eye, they are as gorgeous as they are diminutive - they don't take up much room on the wall, and they are just super, super cute! They don't take up much space on my studio desk either, meaning I can work on them whenever I like and also work on several of them at a time. That's part of the reason they look so aesthetically pleasing together...

birdsinherheart-steemit-6.jpg

Diminutive they may be, but they have huge amounts of personality! Their small size makes them ideal for placing on a shelf, table or dresser and means they also look great in a collection with other mini paintings such as 'Remember What You Are' and 'Strands In A Web'...I love scattering them around the place in little groups and seeing them interact...


birdsinherheart-steemit-3.jpg

By the way, did you know that the card I use for these miniature paintings would otherwise have gone into the dustbin? I get them from a photographer friend who makes his own mounts and frames for his photography prints. He had previously always thrown these 'middles' in the trash...until he thought of me and wondered whether they'd be useful. That's a YES!

birdsinherheart-steemit-4.jpg
All of my creations, although perhaps seemingly very eclectic, have a common thread which connects them - it means they often 'go together', even when you might not expect them to. Here's an example - how lovely does this little Said In Stones pendant look hanging out with 'Birds in Her Heart'? 😍


If you've fallen in love with this painting, you might be interested to know that I have made it available for sale in my store on Etsy (link in my header). I'm also happy to sell direct - payment accepted via PayPal or, of course, in Steem!


I hope you've enjoyed this post. As an independent creative and unschooling Mama, sharing aspects of my life and work helps me to feel more connected to other free thinkers and creative people in the World. My art, my creative endeavours and my life in general are an ongoing expression of the connectedness I feel to Life Itself. I am deeply committed to being an open and faithful channel for whatever message Life entrusts me with bringing into the World of Mankind. In this spirit, your support, kind-ness, and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome!

With love,

Jay x

jay-smiling-steemit.jpg

Sort:  

Dear Artist @jaytaylor ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Thank you, @fineartnow - much appreciated! x

Really nice work @jaytaylor. Thanks for sharing. Now following :)

Thank you, @oen - following you back :)

very nice work :)

Thank you! :)

Hello @jaytaylor! Very interesting abstraction. And thanks for subscribing!

Hi Mary! Thank you for stopping by and for upvoting this post - much appreciated and I'm glad you found it interesting. And you're welcome! Jay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34