From Pharaoh To Shiva, Painting Process

in #art5 years ago

I was going to paint a Pharaoh. A large one. Then I was going to paint a second one, medium sized one. Eventually I painted neither of those.

IMG_0849 a.jpg

I had a sketch of a Pharaoh sitting on a throne and was pretty stoked to do something futuristic out of it, mixed with elements of fantasy.

But it wasn't quite flowing the was I would have loved to. I just could not bring myself to come up with the right elements.

And then I got the inspiration to replace the Pharaoh with Shiva. And all of a sudden it started to flow easily. And that is all I needed to know in order to know that I am doing the right decision. I spent quite a bit of time on those two pharaoh paintings but Shiva took over all of it in space of seconds, and I already know it was the right decision.

As Abraham say: follow the flow, don't fight it. It's here for a reason.

You can see the journey and judge for yourself if Shiva was the way to go. This is what I got so far. Second day of work on Shiva, many more to come

!

IMG_9073.jpg

IMG_9095.jpg

This is when I put Pharaoh to eternal sleep :D

.

IMG_0828.jpg

IMG_0829.jpg

IMG_0830.jpg

IMG_0847.jpg

IMG_0849.jpg

Lots more to come!

Hope you enjoyed the birthing so far!

Thank you for your support, always!

Much love to all

Jan

follow @jankasparec

hanes eye pyramid 1.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing! I also liked the idea of the pharaoh but shiva is great too.

Both but especially the pharaoh version reminds me of the movie "Lucifer Rising".

Lucifer...hmm, not sure if I wanna mess with that guy :) Thank you for awesome comment!

I think you made the right call, I like the idea of Pharaoh seated in the double pyramid background but there's something a bit ... too austere about it, and when you changed him to Shiva, I think the austerity changed its flow into a radiant energy that isn't rooted but which is radiating freely :) Love the colours, Jan ! So beautiful !

@veryspider thank you kindly. Eventually the pyramids will be barely visible. It's just something I want to incorporate gently in the very background. No idea where the front is gonna go. Mystery :)

Oh the Pharaoh had real luck and got transformed into Shiva :-)
I am really curious about the further steps brother.
Resteemed :-)

ha ha so true! Happy you see it like that bro! Lucky guy! :D

Painting looks so COOL. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Think the right decision is whichever flows XD (but I have a very long history of being completely unable to force things to work so I always go with the flow).

It's looking nice, love the background colours!

Right you are brother! Thank you


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

have you sold the bruce lee one yet? love that one!

@jankasparec You have received a 100% upvote from @steemconductor because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55