Reviewing some older studies while I was in the Atelier.

in #art6 years ago

Reviewing some older studies while I was in the Atelier.



Greetings fellow Steemians,

While cleaning out some files in my computer today, I stumbled across some older pictures I found of some quicker studies I worked on while I was attending The Aristides Atelier

I thought it would be a good idea to share and discuss them so here they are!


The drawing above was of a fellow classmate of mine at the time and was done in conte.

During my time spent in the atelier, we had this group called “Portrait Club” where we would meet one evening (after hours) every week.

In this group we would all take turns posing every week for 3 hour sessions so the rest of us could draw and paint portraits.

I remember at the time I felt very confident in the progress of this drawing.

I really do enjoy using conte!

It just has this special warmth accenting quality when drawing the figure/human flesh.


This tiny painting below is a detail of an Edmund Tarbell painting.

I was working on this one during my second year in training.

Believe it or not, this was done only using titanium white, burnt sienna and ultramarine blue!!


And of course this is another lovely conte drawing of a fellow classmate done in our famous “Portrait Club”.


Now this tiny painting below was done in one of our standard 3 weeks life room sessions. But to be more specific, this smaller study was what was commonly referred to be a “poster study”.

A poster study was basically a down scaled version of your future larger painting. These were done in order to work out several larger concepts like composition, design, gesture, value and color schemes. In this way, the painter would be more readily prepared to commit to the larger and more refined end painting.

Typically, these poster studies were done in a single 3 hour session.


This larger work (12” x 24”) in progress below I remember wishing I had more time to work on it. At the time there were some new concepts I was digesting, so of course naturally there’s going to be a learning curve ;)


During this portrait club session I decided to go back and work in graphite at the time. My predominant goal at the time I remember was to refrain from breaking down the smaller forms too fast. You always want to aim towards simplification and to focus on the larger shapes.


This additional poster study I remember was one of the first times where I changed, or extended my palette to the Zorn palette

The Zorn palette is a standard limited palette which consists of a yellow (yellow ocher), a red (Venetian red), a black (ivory black) which functions as a blue, and of course white.


And this last drawing below was done of I believe of either a goat or a ram’s skull.

I feel kind of embarrassed in that I should know but...maybe you do??

I enjoyed working on this not only because of the subject matter, but because it was the first time I worked on this special fancy paper a classmate gave to me in which I never used before. I remember the paper being almost like cloth!!


..And that’s it for now! I really hoped you enjoyed reading my latest post and going through some of my older work.


Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

EMAIL: [email protected]

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

You got a 25.00% upvote from @mitsuko courtesy of @jameszenartist!

There a great number of artworks you have here and all are exceptional works which all have a story behind them im sure. I would love to see a focus on each of your artworks and what inspired them, It could be something to consider for future posts :)

Your post was upvoted by the Copes Upvote Initiative. My account was delegated 5000SP for one month by Make a Minnow on the P.A.L Network. This has increased my voting power to more than 10 times what it normally is, with some assistance of my Superfriends over on Helpie the Copes Upvote Initiative was created for a limited time, please check out the programs which made this possible and for your chance to be selected to have 5000SP delegated to you.

Much love in your direction

~ Cope

@mfxae86 Thank you so much! While I continue to push myself in that direction with most of my posts, this one I felt was an exception due to the fact that at the time of my academic education, for the most part the subject matter was due to happenstance and skill based training exercises :)

no worries mate, looking forward to seeing more of your artworks and the influences behind them :)

Thank you, I really appreciate that :) Now that I feel I'm reaching a stage where I can reasonably navigate how and where I want to go creatively, I am confident in that there will be some great stuff coming in the near future ^__^

You got a 2.80% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @jameszenartist! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

You got a 20.00% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @jameszenartist! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

You got a 10.55% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Earn passive income in SBD/STEEM by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 9.66% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Congratulations @jameszenartist! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hey @jameszenartist, Congratulations! Bodzila just upvoted your post with 33.33% power. Keep up the good work!

Delegate your Steem Power to @Bodzila & Earn 80% Weekly returns based on your share. You can cancel delegation of your SP at anytime as the money & power remain in your hands only.

Any queries or required support can be discussed in person. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

This post has received a $33.87 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @jameszenartist.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

You have been defended with a 17.19% upvote!
I was summoned by @jameszenartist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44