My Latest Rose Study and Its Development.

in #art6 years ago

My Latest Rose Study and Its Development.



Rose Study
9” x 12”
Oil on birch panel
2018


Greetings Everyone,

In this post I thought I would share my latest flower study of a single rose and how it developed.

I have to say that it took a strange way of progression as compared to the methods in which I'm normally accustomed to.

I'm not sure at this point how or if I should carry this further.

Maybe I'll save this for later and continue to add additional studies when more free flowers are coming my way? :)

At first I began with a hazily defined placement of the single rose with “tick” marks.

I knew right off from the beginning that if I didn’t want any evidence of construction lines or developmental errors to show, that I needed to make sure that they were placed more on the inside of the flower as I was predominantly working from the inside to the outside. This way I’d have no problem eventually covering them up.


Continuing to work from the inside out, I methodically aimed aimed at nailing the darkest darks and navigated myself towards finding each of the petal’s local color. Reaching for a direct finish is definitely the key here.


..Working in this manner definitely ensures quality edge control throughout the progress of the study..


..At this stage I went back to double and triple check to see that if the painting is moving along like I wanted it to. I continued to push the lights as much as I could without building up too much of a mess. Of course I still wanted to build up texture and sharp edges, but I also had to be very strategic about it.


.

..Aaaand it’s finished!!


Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

EMAIL: [email protected]

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

Love this, James ! The petals are painted with such a rich and luscious red ! Will look forward to your progress on this one, for sure :)

@veryspider Thank you! Those reds are actually a result of a few different kinds of reds on my palette, warm and cool :) As of now, I'm already finished with the second rose and the plan I think I'm sticking with is that I'll add one more final flower with a vase of some sorts. I'll have to wait though until more free flowers are coming my way.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jameszenartist from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29