Whale Tank Promo Art, Altruistic Cyber Whale - Digital Vector art

in #art7 years ago

My Entry for the Whale Tank promo art contest!

Whale tank final 1200.jpg

The gentle giant lights the way for minnows.


Hello everyone! I'm pleased to finally present you my entry for the contest. This was a huge project that I've been working on for a day and a half. Here is a link to the contest page if you want to learn more.

Click here - Whale Tank promo Art Contest

There you can see entries from other artists using all sorts of mediums. If you are an artist or designer, you should get on it as there is a big reward pool :)

I've been working on this huge digital vector project all day. I managed to save the project at different stages.

Let's take a look at the design process for this massive Whale!


  • Pen

Whale tank pen.JPG

He was based on my Steampunk whale illustration I did a few months back. This whale looks a bit more Cyber.

Whale Tank Vector trace.jpg

It can be painstaking but really pays off in the end.

  • Flat image

Whale tank flat.jpg

Here it is fully colored in. It's not bad at all with basic, flat Vector coloring.

  • Final

Whale tank final 1200.jpg

Here he is with all the visual FX settings Affinity Designer has to offer :) The 3D FX are pretty cool and have their own lighting.


Well, I really hope you liked that beast of a project. I feel totally spent but really happy with the results. I think this one has a good chance!
Please let me know what you think in the comments below. I created this art specifically for Steemit. If you enjoyed this post, please leave me an upvote! I really appreciate the support :)

Small logo300 white block.jpg

Thanks for coming buy. Wish me luck in the contest!

Sort:  

Thanks, I'll need it. Competition is stiff ;)

Well done James!! Good luck! It looks pretty awesome! !! 🐳🐳

Thanks, I'm knackered now o__0

great job!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks a lot :) That was one of the more intense Steemit projects.

great drawing, awesome digitalization!

Thanks @bronkong. It was a hell of a push. Was on it all day! I'm doing the dragon next. Not sure if it's gonna be vector or color pencil...

I was checking the contest...many good works but i think you has a realistic chance.
Good luck mate ;)

Thank you mate! We will have the results in the next few days.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @creativesoul from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Thanks very much Minnow Support :)

Frikken Dope!

Thanks! I was flagging a bit after I finished it. Feel better after some nice dinner. The endurance challenge of illustration...

I love it ! Nice work !🐳🐳🐳

@jameshsmitharts,
OMG friend, you draw this! Amazing... actually I can't do something like that... great work friend!

Cheers~

yes. it was quite an undertaking. Affinity Designer makes it possible.

Nicely done @jameshsmitharts..!! Great talent.

Thanks mate, it didn't win sadly. Glad you got to appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.47
ETH 3134.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39