Block Dreams, Journey of the Dolphin - Pen & Color Pencil

in #art7 years ago

A New Medium

Hello and welcome to my first color pencil art post. I'm pleased to present my Cyber Dolphin. He is exactly what I want to be! It's a nice clean pen drawing with very flat color penciling. I'm very pleased with the color scheme I came up with for this one. I might just have to do a digital version in the near future.
I was considering to color the background but chose to leave it plain and crisp. I hope you like the results!

final D.JPG


Shall we take a look at the design journey?

  • Pencil

Pencil D.JPG

I like the pencil version. It's not a bad stand alone in my opinion.

  • Inking

Pencil to pen D.JPG

Working on him was very relaxing :)

By the way, I was listening to Groove Salad from Soma F.M. It's a great publicly supported chill out radio station from San Francisco. If you like electronic chillout, this is the place to go.

GS.JPG

  • Pen

Pen D.JPG

You gotta love nice line art.

  • Color Pencil

Coloring D.JPG

At this stage, I could have taken it in a number of different directions...

  • Final

final D.JPG

Quite pleased with that.


So, what did you think of my illustration? It was fairly simple and a bit of an experiment. I definitely want to do more color pencil work soon. I'm also considering Pit Pen and Watercolor Pencil. I'm really enjoying the traditional mediums.
Another future post will be about me going on a nature walk and sketching some interesting places that I come across :)

Small logo300 white block.jpg

Please hit me back with some comments below and a kind vote. I'd love to get your feedback so that I can improve my work. See you next time Steemians!

Sort:  

@jameshsmitharts,
Color Pencil... OMG it's a nightmare to me. But you did it amazingly! Great artwork is here! Thanks for sharing!

Cheers~

Thanks buddy :)

That's some great talent you got @jameshsmitharts ! Wow!
Really impressed!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thank you chef! I'm gonna come see what you've got cooking on your blog. It'l probably make me hungry...

Do check it @jameshsmitharts, infact I just posted one simple and super delicious one!
Check it out!
Cheers
@progressivechef

fantastic dolphin. Like your style. Thanks for the radio station too, it's perfect for chilling on steemit :)

I'm happy you're digging Groove Salad. I've been listening to that station for ten years now.

Wonderful work once again! <3
Have you heard of the Creative-Bot?

Thanks and no! Tell me about it...

I just had a look at your Creative-Bot post. Looks very interesting!

Thats an awesome creation. Nice Job.

Yeah Biomechanic! I love it ! :D

Thanks, I almost called it I- Dolphin or Ghost in the Dolphin XD

Maybe Dolphin.exe xD

Yeah hehe... Adolpho 😂

Wtf? ..Adolpho? Lol xD

Adolpho's tale ;)

I really have no idea what you're talking about, I must think about Delphin Adolf Hitler all the time. XD

Lol! I gosh, you're the second person to say the A word. Yeah, Adolpho is not a good name for him after all...

Nice work!
Kinda trippy.
Thanks for sharing and steem on :)

Glad you liked it man :)

i love it so much man....

Thanks Fuzzy! It was a bit different from the Steampunk WHale. A bit more Cyber this time.

Really cool! RESTEEMED!!!

Great job. You are really promoting the Steemit community. We applaud your efforts. Good post. @jameshsmitharts

Thanks so much @tranguyen, I really appreciate that :) Glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37