Space Ninja Pirate - Concept ArtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

In my previous Steem Post, I introduced my original character, Legna Hicrah, the Space Ninja Pirate. In this post, I want to share with you some of the concept art I created throughout the years and see how her design has evolved since 2004.

As an artist for most of my life, and a story-teller at heart, believe me when I say that I have come up with so many characters, stories, and concepts that it can be overwhelming and sometimes disappointing to know that not every idea will ever see the light of production. Despite these odds, Legna was a character that I could never let go of. I would always try to tell her story, if given the opportunity.

The First Drawing

Space Ninja Pirate Final.jpg

It's not very often that the very first drawing pretty much nails the design right off the bat. If you compare this to my most recent version, you'll notice that her design is 90% the same. There's really no right or wrong about it. All I can say is that I thought she rocked right from the start.

This was supposed to be a one time drawing at the absurd request of a friend who wanted to see if I could create a space ninja pirate. There was no story, no name, and no future for this character. When I shared this drawing on my DeviantArt, the reception was really positive. It wasn't long after that I drew her again and before I knew it, I had something on my hands that I couldn't let go of.

Out At Sea Lineart.jpg

Getting the Details Down

SNP Gear Final.jpg

It was kind of a backward process when crafting her character. Most people start with a concept first and design to accommodate those ideas. I had the drawing already made and it was fun trying to take the features of her suit and give explanations for them. The easiest way for me to do this was to classify her gear into the three categories that make her who she is: Space (S), Ninja (N), and Pirate (P)... SNP for short.

Legna Sketch 1.jpg

When crafting her back story, the very first thing that popped into my mind was the timeless battle between pirates and ninjas. Honestly, who would win? They are in many ways the exact opposite of each other. Pirates run head first into battle, loud and proud. They have little honor and respect and will always look after number one. Ninjas, on the other hand, are stealthy, strategic, and work as a team under the leadership of a master or lord. If a member of each got married and had a child, what would that look like?

I wanted Legna's father to be a pirate and her mother to be a ninja. Some of her items, therefore, are heirlooms passed down by her parents. Her katana belonged to her mother and her sash was her father's. It seemed fitting, then, if her story was one of being an orphan, growing up fending for herself with the desire in her heart to learn more about her heritage and the longing to find her parents. Put all of this in the future and we have a ourselves the foundation of a sci-fi, action, adventure story that everyone will love! Well... that last part has yet to be determined.

Sands of Time Final.jpg

The Future is Open

To be honest, the fine details of her adventures are still up the air. I had actually written something in high school, but I'm not sure it will pan out. The story involved time travel and a cast of aliens, robots, and other misfits that joined her on the adventure. I even thought of tying it to one of my other epic fantasy stories and create some sort of larger universe, but looking back I think doing so was serving my own fandom at the expense of the integrity of the story.

Steampunk Legna Sketch.jpg

Legna Hicrah is a great character and I don't want to give up on her yet. Her future is not set in stone. I am hopeful that with input from others and given the right opportunity, she will make her debut in publication, preferably in the form of a graphic novel series. It's not going to be without a lot of work, time, and energy. If I'm lucky, I won't have to do it alone.

Thank you for reading about my character, Legna Hicrah. I hope you enjoyed this little glimpse into my mind and find inspiration to pursue your own creations. I welcome feedback and suggestions for future posts. Until next time!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jamesartville! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You really bring her to life, so awesome! I needa practise making some more original characters myself, you've inspired me :D

Really liking the Artwork, I will look forward to see where her story takes her.

Yeah, I'll update on Steem if any new development occurs!

Beautiful artwork mah man, love it! Kudos

Bountiful post will dony

Resteemed ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42