Nintendo's Paper Mario Digital Fan Art [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Paper-Mario-Header.jpg

I love playing Paper Mario games. My favorite in the series would have to be Paper Mario and the Thousand Year Door for the Nintendo Gamecube. To be honest, though, I have not played any of the more recent entrees, so I can't say for certain if those were any good or not. To celebrate Nintendo's famous plumber, I recently finished illustrating this piece and will talk about the process.

The Wire Frame

Paper-Mario-Wires.jpg

Paper Mario is stout and has no legs. His body components can easily be simplified into circle shapes all stemming from his round body. I felt like there was very little I could do about the pose. There is only so much you can do with holding his hammer and so many other drawings look virtually identical. Still, I gave it my best shot at trying to do something different.

The Sketch

Paper-Mario-Sketch.jpg

I used official Paper Mario artwork to reference the design. I didn't just want to go by my memory because it had been years since I last played one of the games. The overalls and hammer have a very unique composition to them, different from any other iteration of the character.

The Line Art

Paper-Mario-Lineart.jpg

It's funny how I made a big deal about drawing with a lot of pressure on my screen, resulting in thick line art. And then I go and draw Paper Mario and actually had to go beyond my reasonable limit of thick lines in order to capture the accurate aesthetics of Paper Mario's design. I am a fan of the thick outline, but Paper Mario takes it to a whole new level.

The Flat Colors

Paper-Mario-Flats.jpg

For most of my work, I tend to choose colors that are pretty desaturated and faded a bit. I guess I'm not a fan of the overly bright and colorful Saturday morning palette. When finishing the artwork, I actually had to brighten the reds and blues to make it look more accurate to the tones from his official artwork. It's Super Mario, after all. It's a very colorful game.

The Finished Illustration

Paper-Mario-Final.jpg

Although Paper Mario makes a point to utilize the flat nature of paper, the world that this character inhabits is still three dimensional. Based on the angle of my pose, I made it more obvious by rendering a background that, too, was angled and had some depth to it. I love how the environment in Paper Mario games are also made of paper and thus creates a layered effect such as a staged backdrop from a play.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @jamesartville! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @jamesartville, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80