Finch Original Character Commission Illustration [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Finch-Header.jpg

I want to share with you another recent commission. This was a character commission, which is less expensive than a full illustration because generally character commissions contain a single character and either no or minimal background. People requests these for their own original characters (OC) or sometimes fan art of their favorite franchises. This is Finch, a side character from the book Twinepathy by C.B. Cook.

The Wire Frame

Finch-Wires.jpg

I put in the effort to make my wire frame anatomically correct. Even though he would be covered, I think it's important to draw figures wells, including the muscle groups and contours. This helps me to draw the apparel correctly, making sure the folds and wrinkles line up to the actual shape of the body.

The Sketch

Finch-Sketch.jpg

Finch is holding a mask made of wood in the shape of an bird, perhaps a finch? He's pretty studly, complete with stubble and messy hair. Easily the type of character you would expect to see from a young adult drama series. Buffy the Vampire Slayer comes to mind.

The Line Art

Finch-Lineart.jpg

I had a hard time giving the mask depth. It looks pretty flat but it was suppose to be curved so it can wrap around the face snug, unlike a common masquerade ballroom type mask. The shoelaces were not fun to draw, but the extra effort really helps make the footwear look authentic. The hair was fun to draw. I tried to give it volume with the lines instead of depending on the shading to indicate depth and shape.

The Flat Colors

Finch-Flats.jpg

The person who commissioned me requested that I color this one using faded colors. Apparently the style they were going for was very light and subtle. Luckily for me they provided reference photos, which helped when drawing the correct type of coat and colors. I can't say for sure, but from the looks of this drawing I would say he was a supporting character for the protagonist, on the hero's side.

The Finished Illustration

Finch-Final.jpg

I don't always use texture overlays in my illustrations, but I felt this one required it. The colors alone didn't make the mask look like it was made from wood, so I added wood grain to it. The pants look a lot more like jeans with the seams. And finally, the jacket could be made from leather or some other coarse and rough material. This one needed something for a background, so I put something easy to help make him pop out.

My client was very happy with the finished illustration. Another happy customer. If you like what you see and are are interested in commissioning me, please leave a comment. Thank you very much!

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

Hello @jamesartville, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75