Fierce Deity Link from the Legend of Zelda: Majora's MasksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Fierce Deity Link Header

I drew this on October 31st (Halloween) and it was the epic conclusion of 2017's Inktober. I knew in the back of mind I wanted to draw Fierce Deity Link again for some time. The Hero of Time has always been my favorite incarnation of Link, and when he puts on the Fierce Deity Mask, oh "let the good times roll"!

The Wire Frame

Fierce Deity Link Wires

I could have gone with a more traditional pose for Link, perhaps brandishing his double-helix sword in a warrior pose. But when I decided to also include Majora's Moon, I thought that the illustration should have a creepier tone to it. I was inspired by in-game animation when young Link puts on a transformation mask... it looks really painful and agonizing. Agony is a one of the themes seen throughout the game, so I chose to go with that instead.

The Sketch

Fierce Deity Link Sketch

Fierce Deity Link is easily the most power being in Termina, but I still wanted his expression to convey strong emotion. Is he angry, surprised, scared, in pain? Maybe a little of everything. Considering that the Fierce Deity is a transformation mask, it would be safe to assume that this being met an untimely end and was in need of healing, like the other transformation masks. There's very little backstory to explain this character, but the mystery is so intriguing.

The Line Art

Fierce Deity Link Lineart

My sketch was pretty good the first time around, so it made it easy for me to draw the line art, following my sketch layer underneath as a guide. At one point I thought of possibly including a low horizon view of Clocktown with some fireworks blasting off in the sky. But when I finished inking the line art, I stopped there and forgot about my idea later when I finally got around to coloring it.

The Flat Colors

Fierce Deity Link Flats

I'm not exactly sure why I gave the moon a glow using lines, instead of a softer gradient. It looks a bit odd, but at the same time I think it kind of works given the game's unique art direction and physiological themes. Although I drew Fierce Deity Link, he really didn't look that different at first when compared to any other incarnation of Link. However, when I colored his tunic and white hair, it immediately made him more recognizable by his color palette rather than just his line art.

The Finished Illustration

Fierce Deity Link Final

This one doesn't have the most detailed shadows or color work. It's actually rather simple considering how cool the line art was. But to me what I like the most is the colors and the nice blend of reds, yellows, and blues. I think to myself, some times, why don't I try and make my art look like so and so or that artist because I love their stuff and I want mine to look just as good. I still have to remind myself to be okay with cel-style shading and be the best me artist that I can be.

Plus, I should really strive to have my work recognizable as James Art Ville and not just a copy of this other person.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

Wow james amazing art
Thanks for the tutorial
Wish can draw like u.
I still learn too.
Ganbatee

Congratulations @jamesartville! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79