Cera O'Malley Sloshed for St. Patrick's Day - Commissioned Art [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Cera-Sloshed-Header.jpg

St. Patrick's Day has come and gone, but I wanted to share a commissioned piece of art I made for @bl23c featuring the protagonist Cera O'Malley from the comic series, What The Fott?. I've illustrated Cera several times before and I hope fans of the series can pick up my distinctive style when compared to the previous series artists. It's very fitting for her character to get sloshed on St. Patrick's Day.

The Wire Frame

Cera-Sloshed-Wires.jpg

After drinking one too many beers, it's going to be near impossible to stand up straight and alert. Her pose needed to be nice and relaxed, a little too relaxed. Not stiff or straight lines for this one!

The Sketch

Cera-Sloshed-Sketch.jpg

Her facial expression was equally as important. One eye is more closed than the other. Her eyebrows are tilted. Her smile is exaggerated. Her head is sinking into her shoulders and her beer is spilling over the edge of her mug. She's clearly having a good time but it will probably end short because she's not far from passing out.

The Line Art

Cera-Sloshed-Lineart.jpg

I've always spent the time necessary to draw my line art crisp and clean. That's a result of my technical nature. I like to be very precise. I absolutely love the G-Pen in Clip Studio Paint (formerly Manga Studio). That is my go-to tool for most of my drawing, especially the line art.

The Flat Colors

Cera-Sloshed-Flats.jpg

I didn't go with a background for this one. The reason is because @bl23c printed the drawing for a polo shirt to wear on St. Patrick's Day. Her image on the shirt is cropped from the waist up and looks nice set against the dark green color of the shirt.

The Finished Illustration

Cera-Sloshed-Final.jpg

It's not my most detailed drawing, but it is very festive. The green four-leaf clover on the hat is a nice touch. Cera is a Fott. I'm pretty sure that means she's not Irish. But nevertheless, she's got the spirit!

You can read What the Fott? online.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

Hello @jamesartville, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81