A Girl in the Field [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

Silveira-Header.jpg

This illustration is very special to me. I drew someone who means the world to me, someone who will always have a permanent place in my heart. Like with most of my drawings, I made this as a gift. When my words fail me, I use my art to show just how beautiful she is through my eyes.

The Wire Frame

Silveira-Wires.jpg

It was important that I model this one realistically, so I actually used a photo reference for help with the pose and the sizing. Most of my art is more on the cartoon side of the spectrum, but I wanted her facial features to be proportioned correctly and not exaggerated like an anime character.

The Sketch

Silveira-Sketch.jpg

In my sketch I had originally envisioned her standing in front of a dense foliage. I kept the tall grass around her, but I decided against the sticks and leaves. Because she is modeled after a real person, I tried my best to keep her features identifiable, including her nose and her lips. She's also wearing a rosary to remind me of how we met, both of us religious and active in our local church.

The Line Art

Silveira-Lineart.jpg

After spending much attention to the details, I feel like the black and white line art resembles her much more than initial sketch. I also practiced giving volume to her hair and illustrating many smaller strands as opposed to a more comical look with larger shapes and less detail. Her dress was very nice to draw, especially all of the frills and folds.

The Flat Colors

Silveira-Flats.jpg

The base colors on this drawing were really easy to make. Although the line art is very detailed, the actual shapes and number of colors is very minimal and simple. These initial colors are close to the final version, but I did end up lightening her skin and her hair tones. It made more sense since she's being bathed in sunlight.

The Finished Illustration

Silveira-Final.jpg

I tried a few things that I normally don't do, including not drawing a line art for the background and including out-of-focus elements in the foreground. The soft airbrushes in Clip Studio Paint allowed me to draw the grass and the mountains so they look blurry, out of focus. This keeps the attention on the subject. This one will always be one of my personal favorites.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

Very beautiful ! I can tell she's someone who means a lot to you ... the colours are very beautiful <3

Yes, that is very true. Thank you very much.

Are you still on Discord? I poked you but you haven't replied :(

Come back cuz I have tips for you~

I have an account, but I don't use it much. Where do I see if I have been poked?

As much as I love dense foliage (I grew up next to a rainforest XD) I think you made the right decision to go with the field for this, makes sure the girl is front and centre :) Nice work with the dof. Have you shown her this?

I appreciate your insight. I'm glad you like it. I did show it to her, but she didn't receive it as well as I had hoped. She said I made this girl more "beautiful and perfect" than she was, so she didn't feel it was really her but some other generic girl instead. I feel like she missed my intention.

Sounds like she did. Might need a bit of a self esteem pick up :)

Ah well it's a great piece.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very nice drawing...

Thank you very much.

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

That's fantastic!

The work is beautiful the colors and the delicacy that transmits!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

What a wonderful gesture. ❤ I'm sure she will love it!

You are an excellent illustrator! She is gorgeous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65