J For Jack

in #art5 years ago

ypwyiz9x2y.jpg
Hello Steemians,

This is a drawing of the letter J that I made few minutes ago. My inspiration for this entry is Jack from the deck of cards. See the steps below to have an idea on how this came about

Steps

femlaibtvi.jpg

Line Drawing

At the start I am thinking about rotund shapes and flat colors against dark thick lines
p6zd0y9jxo.jpg

Permanent Ink

While doing the permanent lines using black marker on recycled white office paper, I made a slight change in the middle most part of my letter J. I just thought I'd suddenly do a small curve than a straight line. From here on the shapes are looking good and went on to add a few curvy details
eh3outhphd.jpg

Colors

Working with washable color pens is hard for me because I can't achieve those subtle shadings so I have to use different shades of the same color to achieve that but still quite difficult to pull off.
et468f9pyl.jpg

Details

The strokes I used are not straight lines but I try to follow the contour or shape of the area I am coloring I think this helps me deal with the difficulty of achieving subtle color transition and shadings like mentioned above.
Hope you guys like my entry. Thank you once again to @ran.koree for organizing this contest and bringing talented Steemians together to show their kind of art.

If you would like to join kindly read the contest details on the link below:
https://steemit.com/contest/@ran.koree/we-draw-the-letters-j-contest

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46