My First Artworks, Self Critique and Letting Them Go 🎨

in #art6 years ago

It was this time of the year 2012
I first stepped in our art studio in my University in the Fine Arts Program in the University of Mindanao.
I was bringing my art portfolio (just a compilation of my artworks) filled with anime drawings and a few drawings of birds where I attempted to draw it realistically hardly achieving it, I was so proud of it and had kept it in my clearbook.

  • I DID NOT KNOW HOW TO DRAW YET
    Sounds untrue, I did draw some anime and cartoons but, I was about to learn something different. It was Fine Arts major in Painting.

When I was 8

My dream of achieving realism
I had a dream when I was 8, I saw in an encyclopedia for kids drawing techniques and portrait making. Quickly I took my pencil and paper and tried to copy the steps. My imagination was so fun and exciting, I was going to draw the portrait and capture the persons likeness. After trying, sadly it did not look like her at all.

I thought to myself,
"Wow this is so hard."

I went to my mom and said,
"Ma, does it look like the girl in the book? I tried to copy it but it's so hard."

She said it was okay and that these things need practice and formal lessons.

This memory is crystal clear along with my very few attempts to copy someones face and fail.
Those memories made me work hard everyday to draw and improve.

👋LET ME TAKE YOU 👋

🎨SHOW MY ART🎨

AND TELL YOU HOW I FELT MAKING THEM, AND HOW I SEE THEM NOW THAT I HAVE IMPROVED. 👩‍🎨

Let us begin in reverse.

I will show you the best ones I've made at the end of my 1 year art practice in art school. Let us begin to analyze.

2018-07-04 02.53.48 1~2.jpg

This classical piece that we copied from, I forgot what title it is honestly I'm so sorry.
Title: untitled
Medium: charcoal and chalk on brown paper
Size: 24 x 18 inches (estimate)
Time: 2 weeks

Our class was 5 days a week, 8 hours of drawing and only one break, lunch break.
It was a very enjoyable but tiring time. We had lessons on art theory and reading about basic elements and principles.

This one, is the biggest charcoal art I have evee made.
charcoal_chalk_by_jyacini.jpg
Across the drawing board I taped the brown paper and started drawing.
The whole time I felt unsure whether I was doing okay, anatomy seemed a bit hard doing it freehand. Our teachers were there to guide us.
After making this I felt:

  • Accomplished
  • I felt skilled (wow I just impressed myself)
  • I loved how it looked
  • I thought I did the best I could
  • Started comparing with others
  • Learned to use chalk for highlights
  • Realized how charcoal is so messy and I don't like it but the end results are worth it.
  • Applied the light application/spraying of fixative so it does not get smudged.

What about now?

Now I see a few things differently.

  • The angle of the hand is wrong, doesn't she look like she has an extra elbow? Haha
  • Eyebrows too thick and uneven
  • Her instrument isnt drawn well
  • Gravity and drapery doesn't look well presented.
  • The gradation could use a smoother effect

If I would do a remake of this, I'd probably carefully apply the pencil strokes and focus more on making the clothes realistic and fixing the anatomy of her body and the realistic look and on her facial proportions.

Next,
2018-07-04 02.51.19 1~2.jpg
Title: self portrait
Medium: graphite pencil on cartolina paper
Size: 26 x 18 inches (estimated)
Time: 2 weeks

This is one of the most hectic pieces ever, so much time pressure.
a_pic_with_my_first_self_portrait_from_2013_by_jyacini.jpg
While creating this artwork I felt very proud of it:

  • I love the hair texture and strokes
  • The sleeves were detailed
  • Kinda looks like me or the reference pic

And Now

Untitled_by_jyacini.jpg

  • The necklace lacks shadow
  • The gradient is very rough, with slower and finer strokes a more real effect can be achieved
  • The shading on the skin is too light
  • I could make it look more like me next time.

But still I still love this, and is the biggest self portrait ever.

Ball Pen Art

Ballpen_art_by_jyacini.jpg
This ballpen art we copied from a model box with lights. So the reference is not from a picture but real items placed before us.
Title: boots
Medium: leone ballpen on cartolina
Size: 18 x 26"
Time: 2 weeks
This was very fun to draw and easier.
Be careful of ink blotches, wipe it on a piece of cloth or paper and always shade from lightest to dark
No erasures make it even harder but slowly it can be achieved.

This was very awesome to me, and it was the trickiest ever. How do you create a shiny bottle effect? How to create a woody texture? Shiny leather?
Overall it was successful.
I was very proud and satisfied.

2018-07-04 02.55.32 1~2.jpg
Critique:

  • The bottle could use more curvey stroke of shading.
  • Thegradation could be more realistic if I add more midtone.
  • Organized and finer strokes would make it look way better
  • Avoiding blotching, more care in drawing

I do hope I can make another ballpen art masterpiece.

Ballpen Self Portrait

2018-07-04 02.54.48 1~2.jpg
Title: self portrait in distorted grid
Medium: leone and faber castel ballpen on cartolina paper
Time: 2weeks

I created my own distortions according to the instruction of our professor Rey bollozos.

  • I was happy with the different styles I used for this art like pointilism, scribbling, cross hatching and other strokes.

Now:

  • I could improve the precision with copying the subject.

Thats all I think needs work.

2018-07-04 02.52.40 1~2.jpg
Title: untitled
Medium: colored pencils

For this piece I felt confused how to create the metallic shine and depth and reflections. But I came up with a good enough result.

If I were to comment on this now,
I'd say:

  • It's too pale
  • Needs more realism
  • The shading is wrong
  • Needs more details

My Portrait Attempts in Graphite and Colored Pencils

These are my earlier pieces, prior to making those first ones I showed.

For now, I will just point out the "mistakes" or things I could have done better

sale5.jpg
I tried to draw myself with longer hair here, that time I had short hair.
Manual photoshop.

  • This lacks depth and shadows
  • Hair is messy with no highlights
  • Still doesn't look like me

sale7.jpg

  • This one is unfinished but it's only midtone for now
  • No other comment

received_1973929719284233.jpeg

  • Messy shading
  • Lacks darker shades
  • Dirty smudges

sale6.jpg

  • The nose is not as defined
  • Rough shading
  • Messy hair
  • Unfinished look
  • Lacks darker hues
  • No highlights

sale4.jpg
Oh this is very emotional, this is a portrait I made where I've had more practice.

  • There's highlights for the tears that's good
  • Hairs so messy still
  • There are lyrics or a song on the side no no, not good

sale1.jpg
Here's my first try to make a colored pencil portrait of myself long ago.

  • Colors are so pale
  • Rough strokes
  • Shading is flat
  • I get lazy drawing and shading the clothes

sale2.jpg
This is a caricature I made of me, so, it's less on accuracy and more on distortions.

  • still pale
  • Rough strokes
  • Hard blending

2D Art

Lets go back farther to the past and view some pages from my visual diary. Its a sketchbook we are required to fill for developing our ideas and creativity.

Overall, these are flat line art with maybe very little shading.
I guess what I can say is I drew these in a rush so the:

  • Shading is rough
  • Proportions not as good

Here they are!
sale9.jpg
She's supposed to be japanese, I am fond of learning languages so I put some characters or something. (It is wrong grammar to whoever can read this) self taught!

sale10.jpg
Chinese theme, after visiting the match maker. Yeah this is like in mulan.

sale13.jpg
Some greek mythology, a dryad. These were ideas for some sculpture too.

sale12.jpg
Ice or water element, I just got carried with the ice. I forgot if this was a mermaid or what maybe no.

sale11.jpg
This is definitely fire and volcano haha.

sale14.jpg
Okay this is a more serious model for a sculpture. More 3D, and it's still rough and messy though.
That's something I couldn't work on.

But maybe I did!
sale3.jpg
Talk about dragons!

some good inspiration can boost your level up!

sale8.jpg
John howes how to forge a dragon. I copied some example he made. He is just so creative.

MORE OF THE NOW ART

5 Years later

so, here are some artworks I made that I made, some for some steemit contests and some for practice and for other art websites.

If you noticed some differences with my output, drop it in the comments below.
2018-07-04 02.43.06 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.43.39 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.43.48 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.44.12 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.43.28 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.44.41 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.44.35 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.47.20 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.47.28 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.46.56 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.47.38 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.46.41 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.44.25 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.46.15 1~2.jpg
2018-07-04 02.46.02 1~2.jpg

  • I've learned to use other mediums like watercolor
  • Mixed media
  • Discovered the mechanical pencils and erasers
  • Used white ink
  • Blends darker hues

Closure

I am actually letting these go, maybe give them away or sell them.
They've been a part of my journey but I think they'll make other people feel happy :) I will post this on my fb perhaps. Soon.
Just had to document them and put my thoughts together.
I am happy!

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

this has been my art journey before I started drawing again last 2017.
I had stopped for 3-4 years and showing some of them and some recent art.
Glad to share. ♥️♥️♥️

I am so excited for this coming months, new art mediums to try and master.
Stay tuned!

KEEP STEEMING! 🐳

God bless everyone!


🌍🌎🌏
THE ENVIRONMENT CALLS FOR YOU
HELP SAVE HER ♥️✨🕊️
Follow me to be updated with news on environment and animals. This includes:
Daily updates
‎Petitions
‎Donations
For all animals and the environment.
20180313_145342.gif
20180321_112522.gif
20180326_194801.gif
20180411_225249.gif
WE DO NOT INHERIT THE EARTH FROM OUR ANCESTORS, WE BORROW IT FROM OUR CHILDREN
🌏🌎🌍

😱IT IS IMPORTANT TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES☝️
I recommend these
@steemgigs
@blocktrades
@precise
@cloh76.witness
@ausbitbank

SOME AWESOME BLOGGERS
You don't want to miss😉
@gems.and.cookies
@anomadsoul
@surpassinggoogle
@bayanihan
@topkpop
@sirsensei
@hiddenblade
@juliakponsford
@juliank
@bayanihan
@deveerei
@korinkrafting
@fukumineko
@vocafrost
@noellesevilla
@kneelyrac
@sukiyakii
@sethlinson
@helene
@mattphilleo
@deemarshall

🦄✨❣️🌼
Proud member of
#steemph
#artguildph
#untalented
#steemitachievers
#steemitbloggers
#gratefulvibes
#steem-cartoon

That's all folks!
XOXO 💋
@jacinta.sevilla
Screenshot_20180607-193340~2.png
received_10214586986052169.jpegDQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png
Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Amazing.. you have grown as an artist. Am a fan

Posted using Partiko Android

Woooo hehhe hi !!!
Thank you so much for the support haha
It makes me happy to hear :D

Consistency leads to growth. Your consistency in creating art has made you grow over time. Now, you are just an awesome artist!

Keep up the good work!

Yes consistency! Thank you so much! :D

now your skill is much better, but the first artworks is important, becouse they are your first)))
Very good works, great drawings!

Hello thank you for your feedback! Your art is great too :D ♥️

Wow amazing @jacinta.sevilla , I like your art well Thanks for sharing.All the best...

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

you are a great artist. i have already shared your pots.

Thanks so much for your support! :D

You are welcome

All those works are amazing @jacinta.sevilla!!
Now you can show more mediums of work!

Hopefully I'll master all mediums :D

Take your time, you have a lifetime to learn! :)

Very nice art work... You will be very good artist.

Hi jacinta.sevilla,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you!!! 🍓💗🎨☝️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55