Finishing My Couple Portrait: slow but steady✏️

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Taking time means taking extra care 👍

I finally finished my first work of art for 2018 which I thought I was taking so long to finish.

The finished art
IMG_20180114_142009_094.jpg

I felt unproductive since I was drawing extra slow but with the encouragement of my friends, I was able to overcome artist's block and continue.

Going through a fixed and straight line is not always possible. A little deviation is not bad. But goal should be always fixed.
By @hafiz34

Slow and steady wins the race
By @anmeitheal

These were two comments of friends that made me think, maybe slower is the way.

I did realize how my output was better

  • Less erasures
  • More precision
  • Better shading

I will show you how I made my work. I feel much inspired by the moral support of family and friends.

Thank you!

Work in progress photos and timelapse videos

To start let me show the materials I used, simply:

Collage 2018-01-14 15_33_38.jpg

A few days ago I posted on how I drew the clothes.
Here's the video

Here's the process of the rest of the art work
This is a new video:

Then, some images of the process.

2018-01-13 01.05.06 1.jpg
My strategy is to start with clothes to avoid lazy artist syndrome. Start with the hardest parts either clothes or background.

The face should be last since it's the most important

This way, you'll do your best all the way.

2018-01-13 08.38.30 1.jpg
Next, start shading cross hatching around the face then smudge with tissue.

2018-01-14 12.44.45 1.jpg
Use a darker pencil 5b to reinforce the shadows and other darker areas.

2018-01-14 12.53.34 1.jpg
Use the kneaded eraser for highlighting. Dab it on the parts where it should be lighter.

2018-01-14 01.56.47 1.jpg
Use 6b or 7b to darken eyes, outlines of the clothes and shadows. Then, for the hair to look more like strands. Make sure you sharpen to make the tips sharp and thin. You can also use a mechanical pencil for this of you like it to be more detailed and fine.


The creative process is a form of surrender and not control

Let art take its time. The right ideas come when you least expect it. It will also give you more time to do other things and focus on other social events etc.
Thanks @korinkrafting


# Have a fixed goal This is most necessary, never lose your way Thanks @hafiz34

Slow but steady wins the race

Thanks @anmeitheal for reminding me!


Rest and sleep!

@gems.and.cookies! Thanks dad. Can't make art and steem without your unfailing support ✏️✨♥️


Have a great sunday!
received_10214586986052169.jpeg
DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.pngSteemit Bloggers Discord BANNER NEW.jpg

Sort:  

Very nicely done!
I can’t do hyperrealism yet and you always amaze me.
Glad to be a sort of help.

arigatou heika!
*bows

thanks heika,, youll achieve that
i cant do digi art like you do :D
hehehehe

Is that your parents mam? Your talent is really my frustrations. I mean i want to draw but drawing is not interested in me. Keep it up, hoping to see your future work.

These two are my parents friends :)
Thanks for the nice comments.
You can join my
Art contest for the non artist
Its really basic and it focuses on creativity.

the link to my contest

https://steemit.com/drawing/@jacinta.sevilla/drawing-contest-for-the-non-artist-1

Really? There was a contest for non artist? I will never miss it promise, please wait for my post. I like that contest lol hehehe

Theres a lot of time. Pls join. Thank you

Wow! Very cool!

Hi there. Nice to hear from you thank you so much!!!

This very amazing. I love the lesson about the lazy artist syndrome and what to draw first. I also love to draw using graphite pencils but haven't posted my artworks yet. I posted some of my artworks on my fb page, Japh's Art Gallery. But I would love to post the others here in Steemit. I'm still learning. And today, I learnt something new. Thanks @jacinta.sevilla

Give me the link! :)
Thank you so much!
We learn all the time.

Here's the link @jacinta.sevilla to my fb page.
Japh's Art Gallery

Thank you. ☺

Very talented! Exactly the same in the photo! :)

Thank you so much!!!

Sogoi!!! I really want to learn how to do portrait hehe

Thats nice you can learn! I can teach youuu!

Waaaah! Thank you senpai! I'll let you know! I'm still exploring lanscape watercolor hehe

im not so good at watercolor
heheheh alright when I have the time :D

Samee I'm still exploring hehe

me toooo :D hahaha

Aww thats a great painting!!! jacinta

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

Thanks!!!! Ill see your art

Ang galing-galing talaga! I really want to learn how to shade

i can make activities :D

You are very talented and passionate about what you do. Keep drawing 👍

Thank you so much :D i followed u
i like your post about blockchain hehe

I just followed back. I must have forgotten to do it the first time.

Yeah, the blockchain post is supposed to be fun... and a bit educational 😁

:D thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuu :)
great :D
looking forward for more of your posts! cheers!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jacinta.sevilla to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51