Kiss Me Sailor !

in #art5 years ago (edited)

20191018_181001.jpg

SMAK !!

20191018_181714.jpg

While I was wasting the last few minutes of my lunch hour today, I saw on facebook that the local arts folks were installing a new borrowed statue today. I thought they would be done by the time I got off of work, so I stopped by to get a few photos.

20191018_181030.jpg

It is actually called "Embrace Peace" ...and it is bronze.

The installation folks were putting the last coat of black paint on the base as I arrived, so I did get a couple of people around the base in a few shots.

shoes close up.jpg

The light was starting to wane too and I hesitated, wondering if I cared and should come back in full daylight later.

20191018_181820.jpg

....but nahhhhh.... .I was there and I was going to do it !

sailor back.jpg

There was amazing details all around.

a little closer.jpg

As you can see I took a few close-ups of some of the features. I tried not to crowd the workers while they were finishing.

20191018_181759.jpg

The statue is 25 feet tall ! Huge I tell you !

other view.jpg

From a little further back you can see how it compares to some of the trees.

from distance.jpg

You felt like you were there with me.... right ?? :)

It's Friday ! ..... and it's pay day ! .... and the beginning of the weekend. A more perfect moment of the week does NOT exist.

I hope you've had a pleasant day and that your weekend is AWESOME !

Love you ..... mean it !

Jacey

I am sharing the below photo from the Alamance Arts facebook page, because as large as the statue is, no one will ever see it from this view as there are no taller buildings anywhere near it. It was still laying on the flatbed when they took this today. My understanding is it came up from Florida, will be here till sometime in March and then off to New York. Link to their page is below the photo.

72880473_10156242663196557_7605693890674294784_o.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/alamancearts

Sort:  

I saw it was a while back now the lady from the iconic photo had passed. That is a clever name. Hopefully we will never have to go through another such event to have another such photo :)

Ah.... . I don't think I saw that.

Hopefully we won't !

Thank You So Much ! :)

You're most welcome!

That's amazing detail on the heads, which is a shame, considering how few will get to see it. And what a colossal size! I thought it would be life size and when you mentioned catching the workers in the photos I nearly missed them, because they are so small!! 😆 It's a great size comparison.

Posted using Partiko Android

I knew it was going to be big, but it was even bigger than I imagined.

There are a lot of great details all around, even the lines in her stockings..... and the shoes !

It was fun to see and be near.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank You SO much !

I imagine if a sailor did that today we wouldn’t be building a statue! 😂😂😂

Nice piece!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35