Six Sad Stories in 6 Words - Part 3 of 6 - An Illustrated Series from J-VO

in #art7 years ago

Hello my lovely Steemit friends - I have the third illustration in my Six Sad Stories in Six Word Series (I freaking love alliteration by the way)


Interested in reading the backstory behind the concept and/or want to see the previous illustrations in this series? 


Intoduction Concept & Inspiration & Illustration 1: "Starlet Sex Scandal Giant Squid Involved" - Margaret Atwood

See Illustration 2: "I Couldn't Believe She'd Shoot Me" - Howard Chaykin

Part 3

This story was by James Patrick Kelly. I took the words a little bit literally in this case which makes for a really interesting interpretation visually. I sketched out the composition, inked with my quill pen then applied watercolor washes. 

"We Kissed. She Melted. Mop Please!" - James Patrick Kelly

Pen, Ink & Water Color on Bristol Board, 10"x10"

This one is one of my favorites in the series. I personally always really liked the way I was able to pull off the liquid melty-ness of the woman that he just kissed who now lies in a puddle on the floor - poor guy!

We are officially half way through this series! If you liked my post please consider upvoting, if you would like to see more of what I'm doing, please follow and please comment if you would like to tell me what you thought! Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by!

@j-vo

If you liked my post, please upvote and resteem to others :) Thank you for reading and I hope to see you back! <3

All photography and creative artwork displayed in this post were created by @j-vo.

Sort:  

Nice art creation. You really talented

@kenhudoy thank you so much for your very kind compliment - I appreciate you taking the time to take a look at my post!

ohh...don't mention...your work is deserving of my good comment..keep it up

do find in my blog a short story of family versus office...you will love it...send your comment..

Absolutely! Will do :) Thank you!!

welcome and do comment on my post on family...follow for more...thanks

hah cool :) poor guy

:D I know ... its so SAD!

I like the way the gif colors in - nice. Subtle but makes for great presentation.

Thank you - I have been having a lot of fun with making some of the gifs. I think it just adds a bit of interest - I see a lot of others using it in very clever ways as well. I think it kind of brings the artwork to the life too which is a lot of fun to do. Thank you @artwatch - I always really enjoy your comments :)

Very nice work, awesome animations

Thank you thank you @wandernrose7 - I love your username btw! I see you are an artist! I followed you and look forward to seeing your work!

Thank you @j-vo ;) followed you

How long did it take you to create these illustations? They're very good.

This was a series I did about 11 years ago in my Junior year of College at East Carolina University. I was pretty proficient with my drawing/painting because I was doing so much of it every single day- I think the series took me about 2 weeks to sketch/compose, draw, Ink, Watercolor all the pieces total. I was able to complete one in about 8 hours, divided over like two days or something. Eventually all of these pieces got made into a handcrafted book. So that part took another week or so to get to the final product which was turned in for the grade. I can do a post about that if you are interested in knowing more about the final combined product of all 6 illustrations in context. It takes me about 30 minutes to an hour to create my graphics in this post specifically sometimes upwards of an hour and a half to two hours depending on how many .gif graphics I include in my post. So building this .gif for this one took about 30 minutes to pull in both the black and white and color versions of this piece, get them aligned and sized properly, then build the animations. :) Thank you for your compliment! :)

hey @j-vo my idea is nearly here! (or, later today)

YAY!!!!! I can't wait to see it @aeryn! <3

You rule! this is great. Can't wait for the next ones!!

Thank you thank you @razvanelulmarin - You rock just for taking a second to read my stuff and post such a sweet comment - thank you! I will check out your blog as well - I will post the next one tonight if you want to come back by and check it out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57